All Blacks unchanged for RWC Final

All Blacks unchanged for RWC Final

  • All Blacks stick with same starting XV for Rugby World Cup final against Australia on Saturday: 4 pm kick off
  • Joe Moody retains place after coming in for injured prop Wyatt Crockett
  • Dan Carter starts at No.10 after missing New Zealand’s triumph four years ago through injury
Reigning champions New Zealand have named an unchanged starting XV for the Rugby World Cup final against Australia at Twickenham on Saturday.

Dan Carter, who is the all-time leading points scorer in Test history, starts at fly-half four years after missing New Zealand’s triumph in the 2011 final because of injury.

Meanwhile, Joe Moody retains his place in the All Blacks side after coming in for the 20-18 semi-final victory over South Africa in place of the injured prop Wyatt Crockett.

“We knew we would have to earn the right to progress so being in the final is very satisfying in its own right,” said head coach Steve Hansen.

“But the ultimate goal has always been to win it.”

The All Blacks have taken over England’s usual training base at Pennyhill Park in Surrey and went through their paces on a soggy morning on Thursday ahead of the big game.

If New Zealand win on Saturday they will become the first nation to win back-to-back Rugby World Cup’s

New Zealand team to face Australia: Ben Smith; Nehe Milner-Skudder, Conrad Smith, Ma’a Nonu, Julian Savea; Dan Carter, Aaron Smith; Joe Moody, Dane Coles, Owen Franks, Brodie Retallick, Sam Whitelock, Jerome Kaino, Richie McCaw, Kieran Read.
Replacements: Keven Mealamu, Ben Franks, Charlie Faumuina, Victor Vito, Sam Cane, Tawera Kerr-Barlow, Beauden Barrett, Sonny Bill Williams.
%d bloggers like this: