All Black star ruled out of the series - Ruck

All Black star ruled out of the series

All Blacks full-back Ben Smith has been ruled out of the remainder of the Lions series.

The Highlander left the field on Saturday and never returned after failing a HIA, forcing Beauden Barrett to move to full-back.

Steve Hansen has said that the All Blacks won’t use Smith again in the series, even if he passes the return to play protocols.


The New Zealand head coach said: “While it’s disappointing to lose both Ben Smith and Ryan 
Crotty, it creates an opportunity for others. Izzy [Dagg] is a world-class back-three player, as is Anton in the midfield,

“And both Waisake and Ngani are coming in 
following outstanding performances against the Lions for their respective Super Rugby franchises.”

New Zealand: 15 Israel Dagg, 14 Waisake Naholo, 13 Anton Lienert-Brown, 12 Sonny Bill Williams, 11 Rieko Ioane, 10 Beauden Barrett, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Kieran Read (c), 7 Sam Cane, 6 Jerome Kaino, 5 Samuel Whitelock, 4 Brodie Retallick, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Codie Taylor, 1 Joe Moody
Replacements: 16 Nathan Harris, 17 Wyatt Crockett, 18 Charlie Faumuina, 19 Scott Barrett, 20 Ardie Savea, 21 TJ Perenara, 22 Aaron Cruden, 23 Ngani Laumape
Date: Saturday, July 1
Venue: Westpac Stadium, Wellington
Kick-off: 19:35 local (07:35 GMT)
Referee: Jérôme Garcès (France)
Assistant Referees: Romain Poite (France), Jaco Peyper (South Africa)
TMO: George Ayoub (Australia)
%d bloggers like this: