BREAKING: Wales Six Nations squad, Warren Gatland names new captain - Ruck

BREAKING: Wales Six Nations squad, Warren Gatland names new captain

Wales senior men’s head coach Waren Gatland has named a 37-player Wales Six Nations squad.

en Owens will captain the squad for the championship.

Wyn Jones, Dewi Lake and Liam Williams return to the squad having missed the Autumn Nations Series due to injury. There are also recalls for Leon Brown, Rhys Carre, Rhys Patchell, Aaron Wainwright, Rhys Webb and Owen Williams.

Gatland said: “It’s probably a bigger squad than I’d normally name, but we want to have a good Six Nations and also look forward to the world cup.

“We’ve some youngsters that have come in and then we’ve some older very experienced players that we need to manage. It’s looking at the whole element for the squad and how we get the balance right, because that’s definitely going to be a challenge over the next ten months.

Regarding the captaincy, Gatland added: “Ken’s incredibly experienced and a passionate Welshman – it means a lot to him to play for Wales. He’s also very popular with the players.

“He came back from injury and was absolutely outstanding during the autumn campaign. Probably, if you’re picking a team at the moment he’s the number one in that position. But he’s going to have some competition with Dewi and Bradley as well which is going to be great.”

Wales Six Nations squad

Forwards (20)

Rhys Carre (Cardiff Rugby 17 caps)

Wyn Jones (Scarlets – 45 caps)

Gareth Thomas (Ospreys – 17 caps)

Dewi Lake (Ospreys – 8 caps)

Ken Owens (Scarlets – 86 caps), Captain

Bradley Roberts (Dragons – 3 caps)

Leon Brown (Dragons – 22 caps)

Tomas Francis (Ospreys – 67 caps)

Dillon Lewis (Cardiff Rugby – 45 caps)

Adam Beard (Ospreys – 41 caps)

Rhys Davies (Ospreys – uncapped)

Dafydd Jenkins (Exeter Chiefs – 1 cap)

Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys – 155 caps)

Teddy Williams (Cardiff Rugby – uncapped)

Taulupe Faletau (Cardiff Rugby – 95 caps)

Jac Morgan (Ospreys – 6 caps)

Tommy Reffell (Leicester Tigers – 4 caps)

Justin Tipuric (Ospreys – 89 caps)

Christ Tshiunza (Exeter Chiefs – 3 caps)

Aaron Wainwright (Dragons – 36 caps)

Backs (17)

Kieran Hardy (Scarlets – 16 caps)

Rhys Webb (Ospreys – 36 caps)

Tomos Williams (Cardiff Rugby – 40 caps)

Dan Biggar (Toulon – 103 caps)

Rhys Patchell (Scarlets – 21 caps)

Owen Williams (Ospreys – 3 caps)

Mason Grady (Cardiff Rugby – uncapped)

Joe Hawkins (Ospreys – 1 cap)

George North (Ospreys – 109 caps)

Nick Tompkins (Saracens – 25 caps)

Keiran Williams (Ospreys – uncapped)

Josh Adams (Cardiff Rugby – 44 caps)

Alex Cuthbert (Ospreys – 55 caps)

Rio Dyer (Dragons – 3 caps)

Leigh Halfpenny (Scarlets – 97 caps)

Louis Rees-Zammit (Gloucester Rugby – 22)

Liam Williams (Cardiff Rugby – 81)