Bristol Bears confirm their full list of departures - Ruck

Bristol Bears confirm their full list of departures

Bristol Bears have confirmed their retained squad list from July 1st, 2020.

With nineteen players leaving, Pat Lam welcomes seven new signings, with Semi Radradra, Kyle Sinckler, Chris Cook and Mitch Eadie joining the club from July 1st.

Saracens loan duo, Ben Earl and Max Malins are set to arrive in August, with Fijian flyer Siva Naulago expected in the Autumn.

The nineteen players confirmed to be leaving, include Ryan Edwards after eight seasons at the club, and Jordan Crane, who retires following an impressive 16-year career.

Will Hurrell, Aly Muldowney and Tom Lindsay join Crane in retiring from rugby after making significant contributions to the professional game.

Ian Madigan will join Ulster after a three-year spell at the club, Nic Stirzaker has signed for French Pro D2 side Montauban, Joe Batley joins Worcester Warriors while Mat Protheroe and Nicky Thomas return home to the Ospreys in the Pro14.


Lewis Thiede, Shaun Malton, Luke Daniels, Sam Graham and Ollie Dawe all depart for the Championship

International duo James and Jordan Lay will head home to New Zealand, along with Adrian Choat, who returns to play for Auckland. Luke Hamilton and Bryan Byrne depart after short-term agreements.


Tighthead prop

John Afoa
Jake Armstrong
Kyle Sinckler

Loosehead prop

Max Lahiff
Yann Thomas
Jake Woolmore
Andrew Turner*


Will Capon
Harry Thacker
George Kloska*

Second row

Dave Attwood
John Hawkins
Ed Holmes
Joe Joyce
Chris Vui
Ben Bamber*
Alex Groves*

Back row

James Dun
Mitch Eadie
Ben Earl
Jake Heenan
Nathan Hughes
Steven Luatua
Dan Thomas
Fitz Harding*

Scrum half

Chris Cook
Harry Randall
Andy Uren
Blake Boyland*

Fly half

Tiff Eden
Callum Sheedy
Ioan Lloyd*
Tom Wilstead*

Sam Bedlow
Piers O’Conor
Siale Piutau
Charlie Powell
Semi Radradra
Harry Ascherl*
Jack Bates*

Back three

Toby Fricker
Alapati Leiua
Max Malins
Luke Morahan
Siva Naulago
Charles Piutau
Henry Purdy
Deago Bailey*
Freddie Owsley*


Bryan Byrne
Joe Batley
Adrian Choat
Jordan Crane – retiring
Luke Daniels
Ollie Dawe
Ryan Edwards
Sam Graham
Luke Hamilton
Will Hurrell – retiring
James Lay
Jordan Lay
Tom Lindsay – retiring
Ian Madigan
Shaun Malton
Aly Muldowney – retiring
Mat Protheroe  
Nic Stirzaker
Lewis Thiede

RANKED | The 10 fastest players in the Premiership – including Bristol Bears new signings

Speed is key in modern rugby. Whether it be defenders recovering to win a last-ditch tackle or attackers hitting teams on the counter, we are constantly told that ‘there is no substitute for pace’.

Check out the top five from the Gallagher Premiership below…

10. Semi Radradra (Bristol Bears) – 19.08mph

9. Gabriel Ibitoye (Harlequins) – 19.12mph

8. Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby) – 19.95mph