Champions Cup: Exeter Chiefs 31-19 Ulster

Champions Cup: Exeter Chiefs 31-19 Ulster – Chiefs still alive in Europe

  • Exeter ran in five tries to extinguish Ulster’s hopes of Champions Cup quarter-final qualification
  • Michele Campagnaro and Thomas Waldrom both crossed twice for the hosts
  • The impressive Charles Piutau touched down in both halves for Ulster
Exeter moved up to second place in Pool 5 of the Champions Cup after they beat Ulster 31-19 with a bonus-point at Sandy Park on Sunday.

The sides went into the interval level at 12-12 thanks to two tries apiece. Sean Reidy touched down early on for the Irish province before Michele Campagnaro and Thomas Waldrom responded for the Chiefs.

Charles Piutau levelled matters just shy of the interval but successive scores by back-rower Waldrom and centre Campagnaro took the hosts 12 points clear in the second period.

The impressive Piutau’s second try gave the visitors hope but a penalty try for Exeter just about kept the hosts in contention for a place in the knockout stages.

Ulster-born Exeter fly-half Gareth Steenson kicked three conversions, with Paddy Jackson adding the extra two points to two of his side’s tries.

Les Kiss’s side may now be the only Irish province not to make the quarter-finals as Leinster and Munster have already assured their progression and Connacht are well placed to join them.


Exeter Chiefs: 15 Phil Dollman, 14 Jack Nowell, 13 Michele Campagnaro, 12 Ian Whitten, 11 Olly Woodburn, 10 Gareth Steenson (c), 9 Dave Lewis, 8 Thomas Waldrom, 7 Don Armand, 6 Tom Johnson, 5 Jonny Hill, 4 Mitch Lees, 3 Greg Holmes, 2 Luke Cowan-Dickie, 1 Ben Moon
Replacements: 16 Jack Yeandle, 17 Moray Low, 18 Harry Williams, 19 Dave Dennis, 20 Kai Horstmann, 21 Stuart Townsend, 22 Joe Simmonds, 23 Ollie Devoto
Ulster: 15 Louis Ludik, 14 Charles Piutau, 13 Luke Marshall, 12 Stuart McCloskey, 11 Andrew Trimble (c), 10 Paddy Jackson, 9 Dave Shanahan, 8 Sean Reidy, 7 Chris Henry, 6 Iain Henderson, 5 Pete Browne, 4 Kieran Treadwell, 3 Ross Kane, 2 Rory Best, 1 Callum Black
Replacements: 16 John Andrew, 17 Andrew Warwick, 18 Jonny Simpson, 19 Franco van der Merwe, 20 Clive Ross, 21 Paul Marshall, 22 Brett Herron, 23 Jacob Stockdale
%d bloggers like this: