CONFIRMED: 2018/19 Champions Cup qualifiers - Ruck

CONFIRMED: 2018/19 Champions Cup qualifiers

After the completion of all regular season fixtures in the Aviva Premiership, Guinness PRO14 and the TOP 14, the following clubs have qualified for the 2018/19 Champions Cup.

AVIVA PREMIERSHIP – Exeter Chiefs, Saracens, Wasps, Newcastle Falcons, Leicester Tigers, Bath Rugby, *Gloucester Rugby

*As both Champions Cup finalists, Leinster Rugby and Racing 92, as well as the Cardiff Blues, were already qualified by virtue of their respective league positions, Gloucester have qualified as either the winning or losing club in the Challenge Cup final.

GUINNESS PRO14 – Glasgow Warriors, Leinster Rugby, Scarlets, Munster Rugby, Edinburgh Rugby, Cardiff Blues

The seventh qualifying place from the PRO14 will be decided by a play-off between Ulster Rugby and the Ospreys at the Kingspan Stadium on Sunday, 20 May (3.05pm).

TOP 14 – Montpellier, Racing 92, Toulouse, RC Toulon, Lyon, Castres Olympique

In accordance with a decision of the EPCR Board comprising the nine unions, federations and league bodies, the 20th place in the Champions Cup is determined as follows:
i) Champions Cup winner, if not already qualified
ii) Challenge Cup winner, if not already qualified
iii) Challenge Cup losing finalist, if not already qualified
iv) Play-off match between the losing Challenge Cup semi-finalists, if not already qualified
v) Highest ranked non-qualified club by virtue of league position from the same league as the Champions Cup winner

The remaining 18 clubs from the Premiership, the PRO14 and the TOP 14 which have not qualified for the Champions Cup will play in the 2018/19 Challenge Cup.

The 19th and 20th places in next season’s tournament have been secured by Russia’s Enisei-STM and Heidelberger RK of Germany who will play in the final of the Continental Shield next Saturday in Getxo.


%d bloggers like this: