England 21-8 Argentina match report: Hughes and Rokoduguni make the difference in gruelling encounter

England 21-8 Argentina match report: Hughes and Rokoduguni make the difference in gruelling encounter

England opened their autumn Tests campaign with a workmanlike win over Argentina in an uninspiring match at Twickenham.

Tries from Powerhouse Nathan Hughes and speedster Semesa Rokoduguni was enough for Eddie Jones’ men to win comfortably despite a less than convincing display.

Embed from Getty Images

The Red Rose did not come out of the encounter undamaged, however, with Mike Brown forced off early after falling awkwardly on his neck following a mid-air clash with Joaquin Tuculet.

Argentina could have made the afternoon a lot more difficult for England if their kickers were in order as Emiliano Boffelli (1), Nicolas Sanchez (1) and Juan Hernandez (2) all missed penalties while Sanchez’s late try went unconverted.

Previous results:
2017: England won 21-8 at Twickenham
2017: England won 35-25 in Santa Fe
2017: England won 38-34 in San Juan
2016: England won 27-14 at Twickenham
2013: England won 31-12 at Twickenham
2013: England won 51-26 in Buenos Aires
2013: England won 32-2 in Salta
2011: England won 13-9 in Dunedin (RWC)
2009: England won 16-9 at Twickenham

England: 15 Mike Brown, 14 Anthony Watson, 13 Jonathan Joseph, 12 Henry Slade, 11 Elliot Daly, 10 George Ford, 9 Ben Youngs, 8 Nathan Hughes, 7 Sam Underhill, 6 Chris Robshaw, 5 George Kruis, 4 Courtney Lawes, 3 Dan Cole, 2 Dylan Hartley (c), 1 Mako Vunipola
Replacements: 16 Jamie George, 17 Ellis Genge, 18 Harry Williams, 19 Joe Launchbury, 20 Sam Simmonds, 21 Danny Care, 22 Alex Lozowski, 23 Semesa Rokoduguni
Argentina: 15 Joaquin Tuculet, 14 Ramiro Moyano, 13 Matias Moroni, 12 Santiago Gonzalez Iglesias, 11 Emiliano Boffelli, 10 Juan Martin Hernandez, 9 Martin Landajo, 8 Tomas Lezana, 7 Marcos Kremer, 6 Pablo Matera, 5 Tomas Lavanini, 4 Matias Alemanno, 3 Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, 2 Agustin Creevy (c), 1 Santiago Garcia Botta
Replacements: 16 Julian Montoya, 17 Lucas Noguera, 18 Enrique Pieretto, 19 Benjamin Macome, 20 Leonardo Senatore, 21 Gonzalo Bertranou, 22 Nicolas Sanchez, 23 Sebastian Cancellere
Date: Saturday, November 11
Venue: Twickenham
Kick-off: 15:00 GMT
Referee: Marius van der Westhuizen (South Africa)
Assistant referees: Nigel Owens (Wales), Dan Jones (Wales)
TMO: Olly Hodges (Ireland)
%d bloggers like this: