England are among 12 teams to automatically qualify for 2027 Rugby World Cup - Ruck

England are among 12 teams to automatically qualify for 2027 Rugby World Cup

The twelve automatic qualifiers for the 2027 Rugby World Cup remain the same as those from the previous tournament. In other words, the three teams that secured first, second, and third place in the 2019 event in Japan have repeated their success in France in 2023.

From Group A, France, New Zealand, and Italy have secured their spots in the 2027 Rugby World Cup.

In Pool B, the qualified teams are Ireland, South Africa, and Scotland. Pool C’s representatives are Wales, Fiji, and Australia, while Pool D has England, Argentina, and Japan as its qualified teams.

Rugby World Cup 2027 is on the verge of expanding from twenty to twenty-four teams. This expansion will result in the creation of two additional pools, meaning teams will compete in six pools of four. For the first time in Rugby World Cup history, a round-of-16 stage will be introduced.

The expansion is expected to benefit the Americas, as more slots are likely to be allocated to this region. In the qualifiers for the 2023 tournament in France, neither the champions of North America nor South America managed to secure qualification. Instead, subsequent regional qualifiers took place. It’s worth noting that this model was not universally applied, as Namibia qualified as Africa 1 by facing African opposition exclusively.

If the 2027 Rugby World Cup Draw was made tomorrow, this is what the Pools may look like (based on rankings)

2027 Rugby World Cup draw (Current rankings)


  • South Africa
  • Japan
  • Georgia
  • Hong Kong
Siya Kolisi, Captain of South Africa celebrates after the Rugby World Cup Final match between New Zealand and South Africa at Stade De France, Paris on 29 October 2023 (Photo: Micah Crook/PPAUK)


  • Ireland
  • Fiji
  • Samoa
  • Chile
James Lowe of Ireland during the Autumn Nations Cup match between England and Ireland at Twickenham Stadium, Twickenham, London on November 21 2020. – PHOTO: Phil Mingo/PPAUK