England Drawn Against Wales in Pool E for 2027 Rugby World Cup - Ruck

England Drawn Against Wales in Pool E for 2027 Rugby World Cup

The draw for the 2027 Rugby World Cup will take place in January 2026, setting the stage 18 months before the tournament begins. This early draw will use the World Rankings as of November 2025 to seed the teams.

During the draw, the 24 teams will be divided into six pools of four. Interestingly, this draw will occur before regional qualifiers are completed, creating a unique dual-world approach. The twelve automatic qualifiers from the 2023 Rugby World Cup will be named, while regional qualifiers will be designated as Africa 1, Europe 1, Europe 2, and so on.

Australia will host the 2027 tournament, marking the third time the country has hosted the Men’s Rugby World Cup. Australia previously co-hosted the inaugural event with New Zealand in 1987 and was the sole host in 2003.

If the draw were held tomorrow, here’s a possible look at the Pools based on current rankings:

2027 Rugby World Cup draw (Current rankings)


  • South Africa
  • Japan
  • Georgia
  • Hong Kong
Siya Kolisi, Captain of South Africa celebrates after the Rugby World Cup Final match between New Zealand and South Africa at Stade De France, Paris on 29 October 2023 (Photo: Micah Crook/PPAUK)


  • Ireland
  • Fiji
  • Samoa
  • Chile
James Lowe of Ireland during the Autumn Nations Cup match between England and Ireland at Twickenham Stadium, Twickenham, London on November 21 2020. – PHOTO: Phil Mingo/PPAUK