England team to play Argentina | 2019 Rugby World Cup - Ruck

England team to play Argentina | 2019 Rugby World Cup

Eddie Jones has named his England team to play Argentina in the Rugby World Cup ahead of Saturday’s clash at Tokyo’s Ajinomoto Stadium.

Elliot Daly, Jonny May and Anthony Watson make up the back three with George Ford starting at fly half against Argentina (KO 5pm local time, 9am UK time live on ITV Sport).

Ben Youngs will start his 92nd game for his country becoming the third most capped England men’s player behind Dylan Hartley (97) and Jason Leonard (114). Dan Cole will equal Youngs if he features in the game off the bench.

Joe Marler, Jamie George and Kyle Sinckler are named in the front row with Maro Itoje and George Kruis as the lock pairing. Tom Curry, Sam Underhill and Billy Vunipola will start in the back row.

Jack Nowell and Mako Vunipola are included in the match day 23 for the first time in the tournament having both recovered from long-term injury.

Argentina bounced back from their first-up loss to France to beat Tonga, but will need to defeat England to stand any chance of making the quarterfinals.

England have cruised to two victories over Tonga and the United States, but face their first big test here.

England and Argentina have met on 23 occasions, with England coming out on the winning side 18 times. Argentina have won on four meetings with the first fixture between the sides in 1981 ending with a draw.

What are the England vs Argentina betting odds?

  • England to win: 1/5
  • Argentina to win: 4/1
  • Draw: 22/1

England team to play Argentina:

15. Elliot Daly (Saracens, 35 caps)
14. Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby, 38 caps)
13. Manu Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers, 36 caps)
12. Owen Farrell (Saracens, 75 caps) (c)
11. Jonny May (Leicester Tigers, 48 caps)
10. George Ford (Leicester Tigers, 61 caps)
9. Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 91 caps)
1. Joe Marler (Harlequins, 64 caps)
2. Jamie George (Saracens, 41 caps)
3. Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins, 27 caps)
4. Maro Itoje (Saracens, 30 caps)
5. George Kruis (Saracens, 37 caps)
6. Tom Curry (Sale Sharks, 15 caps)
7. Sam Underhill (Bath Rugby, 11 caps)
8. Billy Vunipola (Saracens, 47 caps)


16. Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs, 17 caps)
17. Mako Vunipola (Saracens, 54 caps)
18. Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers, 91 caps)
19. Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints, 77 caps)
20. Lewis Ludlam (Northampton Saints, 4 caps)
21. Willi Heinz (Gloucester Rugby, 6 caps)
22. Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs, 23 caps)
23. Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs, 33 caps)


%d bloggers like this: