England team to play Scotland: Women's 2022 Six Nations - Ruck

England team to play Scotland: Women’s 2022 Six Nations

Head coach Simon Middleton has picked his England team to play Scotland ahead of their Tik Tok Women’s 2022 Six Nations opener in Edinburgh.

Emily Scarratt returns as vice-captain after nearly a year having missed England’s record-breaking autumn with a broken leg, with number eight Sarah Hunter captaining the side.

Marlie Packer is set to earn her 80th cap at openside flanker whilst Maud Muir represents her country at loosehead for the very first time.

Elsewhere full back Emma Sing could make her debut off the bench while Rosie Galligan earns her second England cap three years after her first.


  • When? Saturday, 26 March
  • Kick-off? 1200 GMT
  • Where? DAM Health Stadium, Edinburgh
  • Coverage? Watch live on BBC Two and iPlayer, listen on BBC Radio 5 Live Sports Extra


“We go into this year’s Six Nations with some clear objectives in terms of the improvements we are looking for in our performances. The players are crystal clear in terms of how we want to play and what we want our game to look like.

“They have trained exceptionally hard and every session we have improved our accuracy and execution. What we now need to find out is which players can put the best version of our game on the field come the big occasion. Playing Scotland in Scotland is one such occasion. We’re massively respectful of them, we know how tough it’ll be if you’re not on your game.

“Ultimately, I don’t think motivation is in the question for any of the players in the side. We had a great autumn series, so everyone is chomping at the bit and we’ve got a World Cup coming in six months. If people don’t feel inspired, then I think it would shine through and the only thing shining through is that everyone wants to get going and can’t wait for it.”

England team to play Scotland:

15. Ellie Kildunne (Harlequins, 18 caps)
14. Heather Cowell (Harlequins, 2 caps)
13. Emily Scarratt (VC; Loughborough Lightning, 96 caps)
12. Holly Aitchison (Saracens, 4 caps)
11. Abby Dow (Wasps, 22 caps)
10. Helena Rowland (Loughborough Lightning, 10 caps)
9. Leanne Infante (Bristol Bears, 48 caps)

1. Maud Muir (Wasps, 4 caps)
2. Lark Davies (Loughborough Lightning, 35 caps)
3. Sarah Bern (Bristol Bears, 40 caps)
4. Rosie Galligan (Harlequins, 1 cap)
5. Abbie Ward (Bristol Bears, 50 caps)
6. Poppy Cleall (Saracens, 50 caps)
7. Marlie Packer (Saracens, 79 caps)
8. Sarah Hunter (C; Loughborough Lightning, 130 caps)


16. Connie Powell (Gloucester-Hartpury, 1 cap)
17. Vickii Cornborough (Harlequins, 64 caps)
18. Bryony Cleall (Wasps, 5 caps)
19. Sarah Beckett (Harlequins, 22 caps)
20. Alex Matthews (Worcester Warriors, 45 caps)
21. Lucy Packer (Harlequins, 1 cap)
22. Amber Reed (Bristol Bears, 58 caps)
23. Emma Sing (Gloucester-Hartpury, uncapped)


15. Chloe Rollie (Harlequins)
14. Rhona Lloyd (Loughborough Lightning)
13. Hannah Smith (Watsonians)
12. Lisa Thomson (DMP Sharks)
11. Megan Gaffney (Heriots)
10. Helen Nelson (Loughborough Lightning)
9. Jenny Maxwell (Loughborough Lightning)

1. Leah Bartlett (Loughborough Lightning)
2. Lana Skeldon (Worcester Warriors)
3. Christine Belisle (Loughbrough Lightning)
4. Emma Wassell (Loughborough Lightning)
5. Louise McMillan (Hillhead Jordanhill)
6. Rachel Malcolm (C; Loughborough Lightning) 
7. Rachel McLachlan (Unattached)
8. Jade Konkel (Harlequins)


16. Molly Wright (Watsonians)
17. Lisa Cockburn (Worcester Warriors)
18. Katie Dougan (Gloucester-Hartpury)
19. Lyndsay O’Donnell (Worcester Warriors)
20. Eva Donaldson (Unattached)
21. Sarah Law (DMP Sharks)
22. Meryl Smith (Worcester Warriors)
23. Shona Campbell (Edinburgh University


%d bloggers like this: