George Ford finally responds to Sam Burgess 'out of order' comments - Ruck

George Ford finally responds to Sam Burgess ‘out of order’ comments

George Ford has now responded to Sam Burgess following scathing criticism from the former cross-code England international.

Burgess said he “lost respect” for his former Bath coach Mike Ford during the 2015 World Cup.

He also criticised son George’s conduct after being dropped.

Now the England and Leicester Tigers fly-half has finally responded to what were branded out of order comments from the cross-code flop.

“I’m content enough and so are my family – we are a tight family – to not respond,” said George.


“We can’t control what other people think and neither can anyone else control what we do day in day out. I’m not too fussed and not prepared to comment back.”

When asked if he would try to talk to Burgess about the comments he gave a quick “no” and added: “I don’t feel the need to justify any of the comments that came out.

“I’m content with how I go about my stuff as a professional rugby player. There is no reason to justify it.”

LIST | Rugby Legends Select Their British & Irish Lions XV’s for 2021

Will Greenwood

The England legend picked his current Lions XV for Sky Sports, based on form during the 2020 Six Nations,

15. Stuart Hogg (Sco), 14. Jonny May (Eng), 13. Manu Tuilagi (Eng), 12. Hadleigh Parkes (Wal), 11. Elliot Daly (Eng), 10. Owen Farrell (Eng), 9. Ali Price (Sco); 1. Rory Sutherland (Sco), 2.Jamie George (Eng), 3. Kyle Sinckler (Eng), 4. Maro Itoje (Eng), 5. James Ryan (Ire), 6. Tom Curry (Eng), 7. Justin Tipuric (Wal), 8. CJ Stander (Ire)

Lawrence Dallaglio

Speaking on The Ruck Podcast on The Times website, Dallaglio revealed his Lions XV…

15. Liam Williams (Wal), 14. Josh Adams (Wal), 13. Jonathan Davies (Wal), 12. Robbie Henshaw (Ire), 11. Anthony Watson (Eng), 10. Owen Farrell (Eng), 9. Tomos Williams (Wal); 1. Joe Marler (Eng), 2.Jamie George (Eng), 3. Tadhg Furlong (Ire), 4. Maro Itoje (Eng), 5. James Ryan (Ire), 6. Courtney Lawes (Eng), 7. Tom Curry (Eng), 8. Taulupe Faletau (Wal)