Goode wins European Player Of The Year - goes on two-day bender - Ruck

Goode wins European Player Of The Year – goes on two-day bender

An outstanding European season for Saracens has been capped off with Alex Goode being named EPCR European Player of the Year 2019.

The full-back joined the list of three-time tournament winners as he helped his club to its third European title in four seasons with victory over Leinster Rugby in the Heineken Champions Cup final in front of a capacity crowd at Newcastle’s St James’ Park, where he was presented with the Anthony Foley Memorial Trophy.

It completed a perfect campaign for the Gallagher Premiership club, who recorded a clean sweep of wins from their nine matches in the tournament.

Over 24 hours later, Goode hadn’t been home – and was still in the pub. In his full match kit. And boots.

The clips were posted on Instagram by Goode’s teammate Maitland.

Roll of Honour 

2019: Alex Goode(Saracens)
Leone Nakarawa (Racing 92) 
Owen Farrell (Saracens) 
 Maro Itoje (Saracens) 
 Nick Abendanon (ASM Clermont Auvergne) 
 Steffon Armitage (RC Toulon) 
 Jonny Wilkinson (RC Toulon) 
 Rob Kearney (Leinster Rugby) 
 Sean O’Brien (Leinster Rugby) 
Ronan O’Gara (Munster Rugby)  – best player of the first 15 years of European club rugby 

2018/19 judging panel: Bryan Habana (Channel 4), Chris Jones (BBC Radio 5 Live), Matthieu Lartot (France Televisions), Emmanuel Massicard (Midi Olympique), Brian O’Driscoll (BT Sport), Dimitri Yachvili (beIN SPORTS). 

%d bloggers like this: