'Hat-Trick of Awards' - Munster & Ireland Fly Half Jack Crowley Named URC Player's Player of the Season - Ruck

‘Hat-Trick of Awards’ – Munster & Ireland Fly Half Jack Crowley Named URC Player’s Player of the Season

Munster and Ireland fly half Jack Crowley has capped off his 2023/24 United Rugby Championship season with a hat-trick of awards. The 24-year-old adds the URC Player’s Player of the Year award to his Next-Gen Player of the Season prize, as well as also being named starting 10 in this season’s Elite XV.

Crowley has been ever-present for Munster Rugby this season, cementing his position at fly-half while guiding them to the top of the table during the regular season. This prestigious award was voted on by the Captain and Vice-Captain of all 16 URC teams, with all nominees again required to have made a minimum of nine appearances in the league this season.

Jack Crowley of Munster Rugby kicks the conversion during the Investec Champions Cup match between Exeter Chiefs and Munster at Sandy Park, Exeter on 17th Dec 2023. Photo: Tom Sandberg/PPAUK

In voting for Crowley, one of his peers said: “He has been great for Munster the whole season and pivotal at the back end of the campaign, bringing them to top of the table.”

Crowley follows in the footsteps of fellow Ireland international Dan Sheehan who was named Players’ Player of the Season last year, and DHL Stormers star Evan Roos who won the prize in 2021/22. Crowley was an integral part of Munster’s URC title winning campaign last season, and has once again been exceptional in red this past campaign.

Munster’s hopes of winning back-to-back URC titles were dashed last weekend, as Glasgow Warriors secured their spot in the final with a 10-17 away win at Thomund Park. The Warriors head to South Africa this weekend for the URC Final, as they take on the Vodacom Bulls in Pretoria with the title on the line.

URC Awards Winners 2023-24

Tackle Machine: Alessandro Izekor (Benetton Rugby)

Turnover King: Jamie Ritchie (Edinburgh Rugby)

Gilbert Golden Boot: Chris Smith (Vodacom Bulls)

OFX Top Try Scorer: Johnny Matthews (Glasgow Warriors)

Ironman Award: Shane Daly (Munster Rugby)

Next-Gen Player of the Season: Jack Crowley (Munster Rugby)

Try of the Season Powered by URC.tv: Aphelele Fassi (Hollywoodbets Sharks)

Elixirr Innovation Award: Benetton

Elite XV: Warrick Gelant (DHL Stormers),Jordan Larmour (Leinster Rugby),Sione Tuipulotu (Glasgow Warriors), Alex Nankivell (Munster Rugby), Kurt-Lee Arendse (Vodacom Bulls), Jack Crowley (Munster Rugby), John Cooney (Ulster Rugby), Ox Nche (Hollywoodbets Sharks), Akker van der Merwe (Vodacom Bulls), Wilco Louw (Vodacom Bulls), Tadhg Beirne (Munster Rugby), Ruan Nortjé (Vodacom Bulls), Jamie Ritchie (Edinburgh Rugby), Elrigh Louw (Vodacom Bulls), Cameron Hanekom (Vodacom Bulls)

Vodacom URC Player of the Season: Sanele Nohamba (Emirates Lions)

BKT Coach of the Season: Graham Rowntree (Munster Rugby)

Players’ Player of the Season: Jack Crowley (Munster Rugby)