Hurricanes 31-31 British & Irish Lions - match report - Ruck

Hurricanes 31-31 British & Irish Lions – match report

The British & Irish Lions ended their midweek schedule with a 31-31 draw with the Hurricanes at Westpac Stadium in Wellington on Tuesday.

After Dan Biggar’s early penalty put the tourists ahead, Tommy Seymour opened the try-scoring after 17 minutes with the Welshman adding the extras, 0-10.

Another penalty from Biggar extended the Lions lead to 13 points before Hurricanes flanker Callum Gibbins try, converted by Jordie Barrett, reduced the deficit to just six points.

Biggar quickly increased the lead with another penalty before George North collected an offload from Iain Henderson to race under the posts unchallenged. Another two from Biggar gave the Lions a 23-7 lead at the break.

A second try from Seymour extended their lead bu the tourists conceded two late tries when down to 14 men.

Dan Biggar missed a drop-goal to win.

The Lions will be back at the Westpac Stadium on Saturday for their second Test against New Zealand, which kicks off at 08:35 BST.

More to follow.

More to follow.

Hurricanes: 15 Jordie Barrett, 14 Nehe Milner-Skudder, 13 Vince Aso, 12 Ngani Laumape, 11 Julian Savea, 10 Otere Black, 9 Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi, 8 Brad Shields (c), 7 Callum Gibbins, 6 Vaea Fifita, 5 Sam Lousi, 4 Mark Abbott, 3 Jeff To’omaga-Allen, 2 Ricky Riccitelli, 1 Ben May
Replacements: 16 Leni Apisai, 17 Chris Eves, 18 Mike Kainga, 19 James Blackwell, 20 Reed Prinsep, 21 Kemara Hauiti-Parapara, 22 Wes Goosen, 23 Cory Jane
British & Irish Lions: 15 Jack Nowell, 14 Tommy Seymour, 13 Jonathan Joseph, 12 Robbie Henshaw, 11 George North, 10 Dan Biggar, 9 Greig Laidlaw, 8 CJ Stander, 7 Justin Tipuric, 6 James Haskell, 5 Courtney Lawes, 4 Iain Henderson, 3 Dan Cole, 2 Rory Best (c), 1 Joe Marler
Replacements: 16 Kristian Dacey, 17 Allan Dell, 18 Tomas Francis, 19 Cory Hill, 20 George Kruis, 21 Gareth Davies, 22 Finn Russell, 23 Leigh Halfpenny
Date: Tuesday, June 27
Venue: Westpac Stadium
Kick-off: 19:35 local (07:35 GMT)
Referee: Romain Poite
%d bloggers like this: