Johnny Sexton believed Ireland should have had an early penalty try in their 35-27 loss against France in Paris.
He was talking about the incidere where Hugo Keenan was denied what looked like a clear try by France fullback Anthony Bouthier.
“What I said [to the ref] was if the guy commits foul play he’s got to be taken out of the equation, that was my understanding of the rule,” Ireland captain Sexton told RTÉ Sport.
“He’s taken out of the equation, you’ve got to look at the picture as if he’s not there.
“Hugo was stranding right under the ball, but they didn’t see it that way as there was another France player in the vicinity.
“A penalty try there would have meant a much easier run.”