Leicester 47-20 London Irish: Tigers’ romp to seven-try triumph as Exiles relegation fears worsen

  • Leicester Tigers moved back into the Aviva Premiership play-off places with a 47-20 bonus-point victory over London Irish
  • Tries from Adam Thompstone, Harry Thacker, Lachlan McCaffrey and Jono Kitto gave the Tigers the bonus-point before half-time
  • Tom Croft, Jean de Villiers and Thompstone added more tries, but Irish showed character to gain three back
  • The victory pushes Leicester back into the top four while Irish remain five-points adrift at the bottom
Leicester Tigers ended their three-game losing streak with a seven-try victory over bottom side London Irish to move back into the Aviva Premiership play-off places on Sunday.

The Midlands’ outfit dominated the first half and had the bonus-point secured by the interval as Adam Thompstone, Harry Thacker, Lachlan McCaffrey and Jono Kitto all went over for a 26-3 lead.

Irish didn’t fare much better in the second period and they conceded three more tries through Tom Croft and Jean de Villiers before Thompstone grabbed his second.

David Paice, Joe Trayfoot and Andrew Fenby did manage to get across the whitewash for the Exiles, but they were barely consolation scores as they remained rooted to the foot of the table.

Leicester Tigers: 15 Mathew Tait, 14 Adam Thompstone, 13 Manusamoa Tuilagi, 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 Telusa Veainu, 10 Freddie Burns, 9 Jono Kitto, 8 Ed Slater (c), 7 Lachlan McCaffrey, 6 Tom Croft, 5 Dom Barrow, 4 Mike Fitzgerald, 3 Fraser Balmain, 2 Tom Youngs, 1 Marcos Ayerza.
Replacements: 16 Harry Thacker, 17 Riccardo Brugnara, 18 Logovi’i Mulipola, 19 Mike Williams, 20 Laurence Pearce, 21 Sam Harrison, 22 Tommy Bell, 23 Matt Smith.

London Irish: 15 Sean Maitland, 14 Topsy Ojo, 13 Ciaran Hearn, 12 Fergus Mulchrone, 11 Andrew Fenby, 10 Theo Brophy Clews, 9 Scott Steele, 8 Ofisa Treviranus 7 Blair Cowan, 6 Luke Narraway (c), 5 Elliott Stooke, 4 Matt Symons, 3 Halani Aulika, 2 David Paice, 1 Tom Smallbone,
Replacements: 16 Tom Cruse, 17 Tom Court, 18 Leo Halavatau, 19 Will Lloyd, 20 Joe Trayfoot, 21 Darren Allinson, 22 Shane Geraghty, 23 Johnny Williams


Date: Sunday 28 February
Venue: Welford Road
Kick-off: 15:00 GMT
Referee: Ian Tempest
Assistant Referees: Peter Allan, Andy Watson
TMO: David Sainsbury


%d bloggers like this: