Lions stars return to Saracens duty for London Double Header - Ruck

Lions stars return to Saracens duty for London Double Header

Saracens have named their side to face Northampton Saints in the Aviva Premiership London Double Header at Twickenham.

British & Irish Lions duo George Kruis and Maro Itoje will both start for Saracens in the opening round of the season. Both take their place in the pack, with Kruis packing down alongside debutant Dominic Day at lock-forward and Itoje taking his place in the back row at blindside flanker alongside Schalk Burger (openside flanker) and Jackson Wray (No8). In the front-row, Richard Barrington starts at loosehead prop with Springbok internationals Schalk Brits (hooker) and Vincent Koch (tighthead prop) also named to start.

Scrum-half Richard Wigglesworth starts alongside fly-half Alex Lozowski at half-back, with Brad Barritt skippering the side from inside centre – he’ll partner Scotland international Duncan Taylor in the Sarries midfield.

In the back-three, Alex Goode starts at full-back with Sean Maitland taking his place on the right-wing and Nathan Earle starting on the opposite flank.

Speaking ahead of Saturday’s London Double Header, Director of Rugby Mark McCall said: “The London Double Header is a great way to start the season with four sides batting it out in a showpiece occasion in front of a big crowd. Looking around the Aviva Premiership, all clubs have strengthened going into the new campaign with quality players joining from across the globe – again proving that this competition is one of the best in the world. Our opponents on Saturday, Northampton Saints have strengthened during the offseason, adding some quality players to their squad. In Jim Mallinder they have an experienced Director of Rugby, with a number of internationals amongst their ranks – they have quality across the pitch which should make for an exciting contest.”

Saracens Team to face Northampton Saints
15 Alex Goode (231)
14 Sean Maitland (21)
13 Duncan Taylor (102)
12 Brad Barritt (c) (195)
11 Nathan Earle (19)
10 Alex Lozowski (31)
9 Richard Wigglesworth (186)
1 Richard Barrington (108)
2 Schalk Brits (205)
3 Vincent Koch (16)
4 Dominic Day (0)
5 George Kruis (137)
6 Maro Itoje (75)
7 Schalk Burger (26)
8 Jackson Wray (173)
16 Scott Spurling (22)
17 Hayden Thompson-Stringer (9)
18 Juan Figallo (58)
19 Nick Isiekwe (6)
20 Michael Rhodes (57)
21 Ben Spencer (100)
22 Marcelo Bosch (97)
23 Chris Wyles (227)
%d bloggers like this: