Match Report: Saracens 24-10 Leicester

Match Report: Saracens 24-10 Leicester – Leaders Sarries too strong for Tigers

  • Saracens deservedly beat Leicester Tigers at Allianz Park
  • Tries from wingers Chris Wyles and Sean Maitland gave Sarries a 17-3 lead at the break
  • Billy Vunipola powered over to secure the impressive win after the restart
Defending champions Saracens remain top of the Premiership standings after a convincing 24-10 win over Leicester Tigers on Saturday.

The hosts set the tone early with relentless pressure, which saw them turn over a Tigers lineout before a free-flowing move saw USA international Chris Wyles touch down the opening try in the corner after seven minutes. And Owen Farrell added the extras confidently to give the hosts a seven-point lead.

Leicester were up and running themselves soon after as Owen Williams slotted a penalty from in front of the posts, 7-3.

Sarries though went into the break firmly in control after the ball was beautifully floated out to Sean Maitland out wide, who finished expertly for his side’s second of the afternoon. Farrell converted with ease to make it 17-3 to the hosts at half-time.

Five minutes after the break, Billy Vunipola peeled off the back of a driving maul to score in customary bulldozing fashion to extend the lead further. Farrell made no mistake with his conversion attempt, making the score 24-3.

Mako Vunipola was sent to the sin-bin after 63 minutes for taking out the kicker after Freddie Burns had chipped through for Tigers.

Leicester took advantage of the man advantage in the 66th minute, Catchpole putting the finishing touch on a superb team move for his side’s first try of the match. Williams added the extras, making the final score to 24-10.


Saracens: 15 Alex Goode, 14 Chris Ashton, 13 Duncan Taylor, 12 Brad Barritt (c,) 11 Chris Wyles, 10 Owen Farrell, 9 Richard Wigglesworth, 8 Billy Vunipola, 7 Will Fraser, 6 Michael Rhodes, 5 George Kruis, 4 Maro Itoje, 3 Petrus Du Plessis, 2 Schalk Brits, 1 Mako Vunipola
Replacements: 16 Jamie George, 17 Richard Barrington, 18 Juan Figallo, 19 Jim Hamilton, 20 Jackson Wray, 21 Neil De Kock, 22 Charlie Hodgson, 23 Marcelo Bosch

Leicester: 15 Mathew Tait (c), 14 Telusa Veainu, 13 Peter Betham, 12 Manu Tuilagi, 11 Vereniki Goneva, 10 Owen Williams, 9 Ben Youngs, 8 Lachlan McCaffrey, 7 Brendon O’Connor, 6 Mike Fitzgerald, 5 Graham Kitchener, 4 Dom Barrow, 3 Dan Cole, 2 Harry Thacker, 1 Marcos Ayerza
Replacements: 16 Leonardo Ghiraldini, 17 Ellis Genge, 18 Logovi’i Mulipola, 19 Ed Slater, 20 Will Evans, 21 Jono Kitto, 22 Tommy Bell, 23 Adam Thompstone


Download IOS   Download Android

%d bloggers like this: