Match Report: Saracens 24-20 Gloucester

Match Report: Saracens 24-20 Gloucester – Sarries come from behind to beat Gloucester

  • Three second-half penalties from Alex Lozowski proved crucial as Premiership leaders Saracens beat Gloucester
  • Tries from Ben Morgan and Billy Burns gave the visitors a 17-15 half-time lead
  • Sarries captain Brad Barritt and Mike Ellery dotted down scores for the hosts
Saracens continued their Aviva Premiership title defence with a narrow 24-20 win against Gloucester at Allianz Park on Sunday. 

Despite suffering from international call-ups Mark McCall’s men secured an impressive 28-13 triumph over a full strength Sale Sharks last weekend, but they struggled to replicate that performance against Gloucester.

The Cherry and Whites, who ended a four-game Aviva Premiership Rugby winless streak with victory over Wasps last Saturday, enjoyed a perfect start powerhouse No.8 Ben Morgan went over in the first minute before Sarries captain Brad Barritt grabbed the hosts’ first score.

Gloucester’s Billy Burns and Sarries winger Michael Ellery traded tries, but Gloucester took a narrow 17-15 lead into the break thanks to the boot of James Hook.

Nevertheless, Alex Lozowski’s three penalties in the second half swung the game in Saracens’ favour as they clung on to complete an eighth win of the season.

Embed from Getty Images


Saracens: 15 Alex Goode, 14 Mike Ellery, 13 Marcelo Bosch, 12 Brad Barritt (c), 11 Chris Wyles, 10 Alex Lozowski, 9 Richard Wigglesworth, 8 Jackson Wray, 7 Schalk Burger, 6 Kelly Brown, 5 Jim Hamilton, 4 Michael Rhodes, 3 Petrus Du Plessis, 2 Schalk Brits, 1 Richard Barrington
Replacements: 16 Jared Saunders, 17 Titi Lamositele, 18 Juan Figallo, 19 Mark Flanagan, 20 Joel Conlon, 21 Ben Spencer, 22 Nick Tompkins, 23 Andrew Fenby
Gloucester: 15 James Hook, 14 Charlie Sharples, 13 Matt Scott, 12 Mark Atkinson, 11 Henry Purdy, 10 Billy Burns, 9 Willi Heinz (c), 8 Ben Morgan, 7 Jacob Rowan, 6 Lewis Ludlow, 5 Mariano Galarza, 4 Tom Savage, 3 John Afoa, 2 Richard Hibbard, 1 Paddy McAllister
Replacements: 16 Motu Matu’u, 17 Josh Hohneck, 18 Paul Doran-Jones, 19 Joe Latta, 20 Matt Kvesic, 21 Callum Braley, 22 Billy Twelvetrees, 23 Ollie Thorley


Download IOS   Download Android

%d bloggers like this: