Match Report: Scotland 22-23 Australia

Match Report: Scotland 22-23 Australia – Wallabies squeeze past Scotland

  • Tevita Kuridrani’s 76th-minute try snatched a 23-22 victory for Australia over Scotland
  • Centre Huw Jones scored two first-half tries as Scotland led 17-10 at the break
  • Bernard Foley’s late conversion helped the Aussies beat the Scots’ by a single point
Australia came back from 16-22 down to claim a hard fought 23-22 victory over Scotland 23-22 at Murrayfield on Saturday.

In an entertaining and hard-fought encounter, the home side dominated for large periods against a Wallaby side who struggled to get going – but a late Tevita Kuridrani try, which Bernard Foley converted, secured them the result.

Centre Huw Jones scored two fantastic first-half tries for the Scots, either side of Reece Hodge’s stunning Wallabies score, 17-10.

Powerhouse Jonny Gray drove over after the break for Scotland’s third try, with Bernard Foley kicking a brace of penalties.

With Australia trailing by six points, the giant centre Kuridrani powered through to score under the posts despite the visitors being down to 14 men following Will Skelton’s sin-binning.

Foley then landed the killer blow with the boot, just as he had done in that epic World Cup quarter-final last year.


Scotland: 15 Stuart Hogg, 14 Sean Maitland, 13 Huw Jones, 12 Alex Dunbar, 11 Tim Visser, 10 Finn Russell, 9 Greig Laidlaw (c), 8 Ryan Wilson, 7 Hamish Watson, 6 John Barclay, 5 Jonny Gray, 4 Richie Gray, 3 Zander Fagerson, 2 Ross Ford, 1 Allan Dell
Replacements: 16 Fraser Brown, 17 Gordon Reid, 18 Moray Low, 19 Grant Gilchrist, 20 John Hardie, 21 Ali Price, 22 Pete Horne, 23 Rory Hughes
Australia: 15 Israel Folau, 14 Dane Haylett-Petty, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Reece Hodge, 11 Henry Speight, 10 Bernard Foley, 9 Will Genia, 8 Lopeti Timani, 7 Michael Hooper, 6 David Pocock, 5 Adam Coleman, 4 Rory Arnold, 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Stephen Moore, 1 Scott Sio
Replacements: 16 Tolu Latu, 17 Tom Robertson, 18 Allan Alaalatoa, 19 Rob Simmons, 20 Will Skelton, 21 Dean Mumm, 22 Nick Phipps, 23 Quade Cooper


Download IOS   Download Android

%d bloggers like this: