New Year Honours 2018: Two rugby stars to recieve OBE's - Ruck

New Year Honours 2018: Two rugby stars to recieve OBE’s

Bee Gees singer Barry Gibb and Beatles drummer Ringo Starr have been knighted, and Strictly judge Darcey Bussell made a dame, in the New Year Honours.

Rugby Union honours include OBEs for British and Irish Lions rugby captain Sam Warburton and former Scotland rugby captain Ian McLauchlan.

Meanwhile, ex-Deputy PM Nick Clegg and War Horse novelist Michael Morpurgo also receive knighthoods, and author Jilly Cooper and TV chef Rick Stein become CBEs.

Among five honours for the World Cup-winning England Women cricket team is an OBE for captain Heather Knight.

Ex-astronaut Helen Sharman joins the Order of St Michael and St George.

Alexandra Shulman, who recently stood down as editor of British Vogue after 25 years; actors Hugh Laurie and Susan Hampshire, and leading artificial intelligence researcher Demis Hassabis are made CBEs.


Author and historian Lady Antonia Fraser and broadcaster Lord Melvyn Bragg join the elite Companions of Honour.

And there is an OBE for ITV’s This Morning presenter Eamonn Holmes, who said “2018 will be my 38th year as a broadcaster and I can’t think of a better way of marking that”.

There are 1,123 people named on the main honours list issued by the Cabinet Office, with 70% of the recipients recognised for work in their communities in a voluntary or paid capacity.

%d bloggers like this: