Nominees named for seven awards: Maro Itoje among the contenders

World Rugby has unveiled the shortlists for seven accolades, including the men’s and women’s sevens players of the year and team of 2016.

The awards will be presented at the World Rugby Awards dinner at the Hilton London Metropole on November 13.

The World Rugby Awards will celebrate an historic year of rugby which saw sevens make a hugely successful debut at the Rio 2016 Olympic Games, where Australia’s women and Fiji’s men added a gold medal to their series crowns.

World Rugby Awards 2016 shortlists
World Rugby Sevens Player of the Year in association with HSBC:
Osea Kolinisau (Fiji)
Seabelo Senatla (South Africa)
Virimi Vakatawa (France)
World Rugby Women’s Sevens Player of the Year in association with HSBC:
Charlotte Caslick (Australia)
Emily Scarratt (England)
Portia Woodman (New Zealand)
World Rugby Team of the Year:
Fiji Sevens
New Zealand
World Rugby Coach of the Year:
Steve Hansen (New Zealand)
Eddie Jones (England)
Ben Ryan (Fiji Sevens)
World Rugby Breakthrough Player of the Year:
Maro Itoje (England)
Anton Lienert-Brown (New Zealand)
Ardie Savea (New Zealand)
IRPA Try of the Year:
Jamie Heaslip (Ireland, v France)
TJ Perenara (New Zealand, v Argentina)
Kaito Shigeno (Japan, v Scotland)
World Rugby Referee Award:
Jérôme Garcès (France)
Alhambra Nievas (Spain)
Jaco Peyper (South Africa)
Rasta Rasivhenge (South Africa)


Download IOS   Download Android

%d bloggers like this: