Northampton 38-18 Worcester: Tom Collins touches down hat-trick as Saints get back to winning ways in the Aviva Premiership

  • Northampton came from behind to secure a bonus-point win against Worcester
  • Warriors went ahead through the boot of Tom Heathcote before Val Rapava-Ruskin bulldozed over to extend their lead
  • Northampton replied with tries from Harry Mallinder and Tom Collins but Wynand Olivier’s converted try gave Worcester the advantage at the break
  • But Collins and Lee Dickson scored either side of a Heathcote penalty, before Collins completed his hat-trick and Saints’ Ken Pisi added a sixth try
A Tom Collins hat-trick helped Northampton Saints to a 38-18 victory over Worcester Warriors at Franklin’s Gardens on Saturday.

It was an interesting opening 40 with both sides playing some free-flowing, attacking rugby. The Warriors led at half-time with tries from Val Rapava-Ruskin and Wynand Olivier. However, tries from Harry Mallinder and Tom Collins kept Saints in the match.

Collins then scored two further tries to complete his hat-trick after the restart while scrum-half Lee Dickson and Ken Pisi added scores of their own to secure an emphatic bonus-point victory.

This was yet another disappointing second-half collapse for the Warriors who remain in 11th place in the Premiership. Meanwhile, Saints rise into the play-off places with the bonus-point victory ahead of next weekend’s tough trip to Allianz Park to face Saracens.

Meanwhile, Saints bounced back from their disappointing defeat to Newcastle last weekend to rise into the play-off places with the bonus-point victory ahead of next weekend’s tough trip to Allianz Park to face league-leaders Saracens.

Northampton: Tom Collins

Northampton: 15 Ben Foden, 14 Ken Pisi, 13 Luther Burrell, 12 Harry Mallinder, 11 Tom Collins, 10 Stephen Myler, 9 Lee Dickson (c), 8 Teimana Harrison, 7 Tom Wood, 6 Jamie Gibson, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 James Craig, 3 Kieran Brookes, 2 Mikey Haywood, 1 Alex Waller
Replacements: 16 Reece Marshall, 17 Ethan Waller, 18 Gareth Denman, 19 Sam Dickinson, 20 Jon Fisher, 21 Tom Kessell, 22 JJ Hanrahan, 23 George Pisi

Worcester: 15 Chris Pennell, 14 Bryce Heem, 13 Wynand Olivier, 12 Ryan Mills, 11 Cooper Vuna, 10 Tom Heathcote, 9 Francois Hougaard, 8 GJ van Velze (c), 7 Carl Kirwan, 6 Dewald Potgieter, 5 Darren Barry, 4 Donncha O’Callaghan, 3 Nick Schonert, 2 Jaba Bregvadze, 1 Val Rapava Ruskin
Replacements: 16 Niall Annett, 17 Na’ama Leleimalefaga, 18 James Johnston, 19 Dan Sanderson, 20 Phil Dowson, 21 Luke Baldwin, 22 Ryan Lamb, 23 Andy Symons

Date: Saturday, 27 February
Venue: Franklin’s Gardens
Kick-off: 14:45 GMT
Referee: Matthew Carley
Assistant Referees: Roy Maybank, Nigel Carrick
TMO: Stuart Terheege


%d bloggers like this: