Northampton announce squad and confirm co-captains for 2018/19 season - Ruck

Northampton announce squad and confirm co-captains for 2018/19 season

Northampton Saints can today confirm that Dylan Hartley and Alex Waller will co-captain the squad for the 2018/19 season. 

The pair, who have amassed almost 500 appearances in Black, Green and Gold between them, will lead Saints during the upcoming season and new director of rugby Chris Boyd – who spent his first week at the Club in Wales with the squad – insists the decision was straightforward.


“To keep Dylan in a leadership role was an obvious choice for me,” he said. “He’s hugely respected by everyone here at Saints and has led the Club brilliantly for several years now.

“We were, however, aware that the Club could be without a captain for large chunks of the season while Dylan is away on England duty, so naming Alex as co-captain was the obvious next step.

“Alex is a pivotal figure here at Franklin’s Gardens. His leadership skills are clear to see, and he boasts an intimate knowledge of this Club having spent the entirety of his nine senior seasons here.

“Dylan and Alex have worked together for a number of years and I’m sure they will continue to build on their partnership in this new set-up.”

  1. Dominic Barrow
  2. Dan Biggar
  3. Heinrich Brüssow
  4. Luther Burrell
  5. Alex Coles*
  6. Tom Collins
  7. James Craig
  8. Charlie Davies
  9. Will Davis
  10. Fraser Dingwall*
  11. Mitch Eadie
  12. Tom Emery*
  13. James Fish
  14. Jamal Ford-Robinson
  15. Piers Francis
  16. Ben Franks
  17. George Furbank*
  18. Jamie Gibson
  19. Joe Gray**
  20. James Grayson*
  21. Teimana Harrison
  22. Dylan Hartley (co-captain 2018/19)
  23. James Haskell
  24. Mikey Haywood
  25. Paul Hill
  26. Rory Hutchinson
  27. Andrew Kellaway
  28. Courtney Lawes
  29. Lewis Ludlam
  30. Samson Ma’asi*
  31. Harry Mallinder
  32. Reece Marshall
  33. Alex Mitchell*
  34. Alexander Moon*
  35. Taqele Naiyaravoro
  36. Devante Onojaife*
  37. Ehren Painter*
  38. Ken Pisi
  39. Api Ratuniyarawa
  40. Cobus Reinach
  41. David Ribbans
  42. Paddy Ryan*
  43. Ollie Sleightholme*
  44. Fraser Strachan*
  45. Andy Symons
  46. Toby Trinder*
  47. Ahsee Tuala
  48. Nafi Tuitavake
  49. Connor Tupai*
  50. Joe Wallace*
  51. Alex Waller (co-captain 2018/19)
  52. Tom Wood
  53. Matt Worley*
    Francois van Wyk
* Senior Academy 2018/19
** Injury cover (temporary contract)
%d bloggers like this: