REVEALED | The Bookies Odds For The 2021 Lions Captaincy Are Out - Ruck

REVEALED | The Bookies Odds For The 2021 Lions Captaincy Are Out

Paddy Power are now offering odds on who will skipper the British and Irish Lions when they head to South Africa in 2021.

Here are the seven current favourites:

  1. Owen Farrell (England) – 3/1
  2. Alun Wyn Jones (Wales) – 4/1
  3. Maro Itoje (England) – 4/1
  4. James Ryan (Ireland) – 5/1
  5. Peter O’Mahony (Ireland) – 12/1
  6. Ken Owens (Wales) – 20/1
  7. Tadhg Furlong (Ireland) – 25/1

View the full odds here.

10 GREAT players who never won a Test Cap for the British & Irish Lions

There are a number of reasons a great player may never win a cap for Lions, from the strength of competition in their position to unfortunately timed injuries.

All of the players on this list, whether it be on the grounds of their ability or achievements can be considered very unlucky to never win a Test cap for the British and Irish Lions

Here are 10 of the best players who never won a Test cap for the British & Irish Lions:

1. Ben Cohen (England) 

Injuries and bad timing meant the speedster never managed to win a Test cap for the British & Irish Lions. 

Cohen was a member of the England national team that won the 2003 Rugby World Cup, scoring 31 tries in his 57 caps between 2000 and 2006.

In June 2001, he did join the Lions tour to Australia, and although he did not figure in the Tests series he did score twice in the midweek match against New South Wales Country Cockatoos at Coffs Harbour.

Did you know: He is clinically deaf, with about 30 to 33 percent hearing loss in each ear, and has been involved in efforts to make rugby more accessible to the hard of hearing, especially young deaf players.

2. Peter Stringer (Ireland) 

Making his debut in 2000, Stringer went on to become an Ireland fan favourite, winning 98 caps in the process.

He quickly became renowned for his ability to take down larger players, especially with one handed “Ankle taps”, and game changing moments.

He played at the 2003 and 2007 Rugby World Cup’s and was a key figure in the sides that won the Six Nations Triple Crown in 2004, 2006, and 2007.

Did you know: His only try for Newcastle, which came in his last game for the club, helped them to a 14-10 victory in their relegation decider against London Wasps.

3. Mike Tindall (England) 

Arguably one of England’s most consistent performers of his era, Tindall was a key member of the side that captured the Rugby World Cup crown in 2003.

But during his career, which was at times a stop-start affair because of injury, he was never able to go on tour with the Lions.

Did you know: Tindall was named a replacement for the Barbarians against the British and Irish Lions as part of their 2013 tour to Australia.