Rob Evans and Tomas Francis start final Test against All Blacks

Rob Evans and Tomas Francis start final Test against All Blacks

  • Wales have made two changes for the final Test against New Zealand in Dunedin on Saturday
  • Rob Evans and Tomas Francis come into a new-look front row
  • Centre Jamie Roberts starts after going through return-to-play protocols
Rob Evans and Tomas Francis have been drafted into the Wales front row for their final shot at New Zealand in Dunedin on Saturday.

One of the alterations is enforced, with Evans replacing the injured Gethin Jenkins, while Francis is preferred ahead of Samson Lee, who drops to the replacement bench.

“We have played some good rugby in the first two Tests and we want to finish the tour on Saturday with an 80 minute performance that we are happy with,” said Wales head coach Warren Gatland.

“We improved going into the second Test and fought to the end and this weekend we have to have the belief and confidence that we can take the victory.

“Playing under the rood in Dunedin will be a great atmosphere and a quick track and we need to take our game to the All Blacks.”

The All Blacks have an unassailable 2-0 lead in the series and Warren Gatland’s side are looking to avoid a whitewash.

The tourists began the three-Test series with a 39-21 defeat at Eden Park, before a 36-22 loss in Wellington last weekend.

Wales have lost 28 consecutive matches against the world champions, with their last win coming in 1953.

Wales: 15 Rhys Patchell, 14 Liam Williams, 13 Jonathan Davies, 12 Jamie Roberts, 11 Hallam Amos, 10 Dan Biggar, 9 Rhys Webb, 8 Taulupe Faletau, 7 Sam Warburton (c), 6 Ross Moriarty, 5 Alun Wyn Jones, 4 Luke Charteris, 3 Tomas Francis, 2 Ken Owens, 1 Rob Evans
Replacements: 16 Scott Baldwin, 17 Aaron Jarvis, 18 Samson Lee, 19 Jake Ball, 20 Ellis Jenkins, 21 Gareth Davies, 22 Rhys Priestland, 23 Scott Williams

Date: Saturday, June 25
Venue: Forsyth Barr Stadium, Dunedin
Kick-off: 19:35 local (07:35 GMT)
Referee: Jérôme Garcès (France)
Assistant Referees: Jaco Peyper (South Africa), Andrew Lees (Australia)
TMO: George Ayoub (Australia)