Sale 34-30 Leicester: Sharks hold on against Tigers | Ruck

Sale 34-30 Leicester: Sharks hold on against Tigers

  • Sale secured a second win of the season with a 34-30 bonus-point triumph against Leicester
  • Tries from Mike Phillips, Paolo Odogwu and Johnny Leota gave Sharks 24-20 half-time lead
  • Will Addison’s late penalty sealed the victory for the home side
Sale Sharks resisted a late Leicester fightback at the AJ Bell Stadium to secure a bonus-point 34-30 win in the Premiership on Saturday.

The win also marked Sale’s 200th in their Premiership history and featured a first half of 44 points, with the two sides exchanging five tries within the first 30 minutes.

Two tries from Tigers Peter Betham were countered by scores from Sharks Mike Phillips, Paolo Odogwu and Johnny Leota as Sale went into the break 24-20 to the good.

Halani Aulika stretched the lead after the restart, though his yellow allowed Tigers’ Adam Thompstone to reduce the deficit to one point. But a late Will Addison penalty saw Sale finish 34-30 winners.


Sale Sharks: 15 Byron McGuigan, 14 Nev Edwards, 13 Will Addison, 12 Johnny Leota, 11 Paolo Odogwu, 10 AJ MacGinty, 9 Mike Phillips, 8 Josh Beaumont (c), 7 David Seymour, 6 Cameron Neild, 5 Jonathan Mills, 4 Bryn Evans, 3 Kieran Longbottom, 2 Neil Briggs, 1 Ross Harrison
Replacements: 16 Eifion Lewis-Roberts, 17 Halani Aulika, 18 Andrei Ostrikov, 19 Laurence Pearce, 20 Magnus Lund, 21 James Mitchell, 22 Dan Mugford, 23 Sam Bedlow
Leicester Tigers: 15 Telusa Veauinu, 14 Adam Thompstone, 13 Peter Betham, 12 Mathew Tait, 11 Tom Brady, 10 Owen Williams 9 Ben Youngs,8 Lachlan McCaffrey, 7 Brendon O’Connor, 6 Mike Williams, 5 Mike Fitzgerald, 4 Ed Slater (c), 3 Dan Cole, 2 George McGuigan, 1 Ellis Genge
Replacements: 16 Tom Youngs, 17 Logovi’i Mulipola, 18 Greg Bateman, 19 Dom Barrow, 20 Graham Kitchener, 21 Jono Kitto, 22 Freddie Burns, 23 Matt Smith


Download IOS   Download Android

%d bloggers like this: