Sale Sharks 13-26 Gloucester: Greig Laidlaw kicks 16 points as Cherry and Whites claim first win of the season | Ruck

Sale Sharks 13-26 Gloucester: Greig Laidlaw kicks 16 points as Cherry and Whites claim first win of the season

  • Greig Laidlaw kicked 16 points from the tee as Gloucester beat Sale 26-13 on Friday night
  • Tries from John Afoa and Charlie Sharples gave the Cherry and Whites a 17-8 lead at the break
  • Three penalties from Laidlaw secured the win after the restart
Scotland captain Greig Laidlaw impressed for Gloucester as they got their first win of the Aviva Premiership season against Sale Sharks to move up to fourth on Friday evening.

Prop John Afoa was slipped in by Billy Burns to open the scoring and put Gloucester ahead after nine minutes. Laidlaw then added the extras to give the Cherry and Whites an early 7-0 lead.

Sale hit back very quickly through an unconverted try from Sam James but Gloucester’s Laidlaw extended the visitors lead with a penalty soon after, 5-10.

Will Addison reduced the deficit with a three-pointer but winger Charlie Sharples slipped in for the visitors second try soon after. Laidlaws’ superb touchline conversion then edged the hosts 17-8 ahead at the break.

Sale finally got rewarded for their dominance after the restart with Cameron Neild putting the ball down.

However, instead of the Sharks mounting a late challenge it was the dead-eyed kicking of Laidlaw that put this game to bed, slotting three penalties in the last quarter of an hour to put the Cherry & Whites home and hosed at 26-13.

Embed from Getty Images


Gloucester: Greig Laidlaw


Sale: 15 Byron McGuigan, 14 Will Addison. 13 Sam James, 12 Johnny Leota, 11 Paolo Odogwu, 10 Dan Mugford, 9 Mike Phillips, 8 Josh Beaumont (c), 7 David Seymour, 6 Cameron Neild, 5 Jonathan Mills, 4 Bryn Evans, 3 Halani Aulika, 2 Neil Briggs, 1 Eifion Lewis-Roberts
Replacements: 16 Ross Harrison, 17 Kieran Longbottom, 18 Andrei Ostrikov, 19 Magnus Lund, 20 Laurence Pearce, 21 Peter Stringer, 22 Nev Edwards, 23 Sam Bedlow

Gloucester: 15 Tom Marshall, 14 Charlie Sharples, 13 Matt Scott, 12 Mark Atkinson, 11 Henry Purdy, 10 Billy Burns, 9, Greig Laidlaw (c), 8 Ben Morgan, 7 Matt Kvesic, 6 Lewis Ludlow, 5 Joe Latta, 4 Tom Savage, 3 John Afoa, 2 Richard Hibbard, 1 Yann Thomas
Replacements: 16 Darren Dawidiuk, 17 Cameron Orr, 18 Paul Doran-Jones, 19 Gareth Evans, 20 Jacob Rowan, 21 Willi Heinz, 22 James Hook, 23 Billy Twelvetrees

Date: Friday, September 16
Venue: AJ Bell Stadium
Kick-off: 19:45 BST (18:45 GMT)
Referee: Ian Tempest
Assistant Referees: Paul Burton, Simon McConnell
TMO: Sean Davey


Download IOS   Download Android

%d bloggers like this: