Henry Pyrgos one of six changes for Scots final Test

Scotland coach Vern Cotter makes six changes for second match with Japan

  • Henry Pyrgos will captain Scotland in the second and final Test against Japan in Tokyo on Saturday
  • Head coach Vern Cotter makes six changes following last weekend’s 26-13 victory
  • Edinburgh prop Rory Sutherland makes his first Test start
Scotland head coach Vern Cotter has stuck with his promise to give every member of his touring squad some game time by making six changes for the second Test against Japan.

The changes follow last weekend’s 26-13 victory against the Brave Blossoms.

Henry Pyrgos, who has made only 17 appearances for Scotland will be leading the team in Tokyo and will also replace Greig Laidlaw at scrum-half.

Edinburgh prop Rory Sutherland will make his first start for Scotland and will be joined by the 31-year-old Exeter prop Moray Low in the front row.

Sutherland will take the place of Alasdair Dickinson, who is out of the tour with an injury while Low has made a swap with Willem Nel, who now moves to the bench.

Glasgow Warriors flanker Josh Strauss makes a comeback in the starting XV replacing John Hardie, who is among the replacements.

Stormers centre Huw Jones will have a chance to make his debut after being named in the replacement.
Winger Sean Maitland and centre Peter Horne will also start in the XV replacing Damien Hoyland and Duncan Taylor respectively.

Meanwhile, Japan have made two changes to their team, with Rikiya Matsuda coming in for the injured Kotaro Matsushima at full-back and Male Sa’u replacing Mifi Poseti Paea on the right wing.

Scotland: S Hogg (Glasgow Warriors); T Seymour (Glasgow Warriors), M Scott (Gloucester), P Horne (Glasgow Warriors) S Maitland (Saracens); R Jackson (Harlequins), H Pyrgos (C) (Glasgow Warriors); R Sutherland (Edinburgh), S McInally (Edinburgh), M Low (Exeter), R Gray (Toulouse), J Gray (Glasgow Warriors), J Strauss (Glasgow Warriors), J Barclay (Scarlets), R Wilson (Glasgow Warriors).
Replacements: F Brown (Glasgow Warriors), G Reid (Glasgow Warriors), W Nel (Edinburgh Rugby), T Swinson (Glasgow Warriors), J Hardie (Edinburgh), G Laidlaw (Gloucester), H Jones (Stormers), S Lamont (Glasgow Warriors).


%d bloggers like this: