Six Nations 2017: England 61-21 Scotland - Eddie Jones' men claim Calcutta Cup and Six Nations title after bonus-point win

Six Nations 2017: England 61-21 Scotland – Eddie Jones’ men claim Calcutta Cup and Six Nations title after bonus-point win

  • England retained the Six Nations title and Calcutta Cup
  • They also equalled New Zealand’s record of 18 straight Test wins
  • Jonathan Joseph ran in three of the hosts seven tries
Eddie Jones’ England made it back-to-back Six Nations triumphs as they defeated Scotland 61-21 with a bonus-point at Twickenham on Saturday.

The hosts, who had not been at their best in the previous three victories in the tournament, produced their best in front of a packed crowd to

A hat-trick from outside centre Jonathan Joseph led the way for Eddie Jones’ men, with Anthony Watson, Billy Vunipola and Danny Care (2) also crossing as they move an impressive eight points clear in the table.

Gordon Reid and Huw Jones, with a double, scored for Scotland but there was very little to cheer for Scotland fans.

Therefore, England remains on course for back-to-back Grand Slams whilst also earning a record-equalling 18th consecutive Test win.


England: Jonathan Joseph


England: 15 Mike Brown, 14 Jack Nowell, 13 Jonathan Joseph, 12 Owen Farrell, 11 Elliot Daly, 10 George Ford, 9 Ben Youngs, 8 Nathan Hughes, 7 James Haskell, 6 Maro Itoje, 5 Courtney Lawes, 4 Joe Launchbury, 3 Dan Cole, 2 Dylan Hartley (c), 1 Joe Marler
Replacements: 16 Jamie George, 17 Mako Vunipola, 18 Kyle Sinckler, 19 Tom Wood, 20 Billy Vunipola, 21 Danny Care, 22 Ben Te’o, 23 Anthony Watson
Scotland: 15 Stuart Hogg, 14 Tommy Seymour, 13 Huw Jones, 12 Alex Dunbar, 11 Tim Visser, 10 Finn Russell, 9 Ali Price, 8 Ryan Wilson, 7 Hamish Watson, 6 John Barclay (c), 5 Jonny Gray, 4 Richie Gray, 3 Zander Fagerson, 2 Fraser Brown, 1 Gordon Reid
Replacements: 16 Ross Ford, 17 Allan Dell, 18 Simon Berghan, 19 Tim Swinson, 20 Cornell Du Preez, 21 Henry Pyrgos, 22 Duncan Weir, 23 Mark Bennett
Date: Saturday, March 11
Venue: Twickenham
Kick-off: 16:00 GMT
Referee: Mathieu Raynal (France)
Assistant Referees: Romain Poite (France), Marius Mitrea (Italy)
TMO: Ben Skeen (New Zealand)
%d bloggers like this: