Squad Announcement: Four newbies named in All Blacks squad - Ruck

Squad Announcement: Four newbies named in All Blacks squad

All Blacks head coach Steve Hansen has named four new players in his 39-man squad for the Rugby Championship Tests against Argentina and South Africa.

Chiefs back-row Luke Jacobson, Highlanders fly-half Josh Ioane and Crusaders outside backs Braydon Ennor and Sevu Reece are the debutants in Hansen’s squad, who face the Pumas in Buenos Aires on July 20 and the Springboks in Wellington on July 27.

Not considered for selection due to injury: Ryan Crotty, Scott Barrett, Tim Perry and Damian McKenzie.

Unavailable for selection: Liam Squire has also made himself unavailable as he felt he wasn’t ready to return to international rugby at this stage.

All Blacks squad

Forwards: Asafo Aumua (Hurricanes/Wellington), Dane Coles (Hurricanes/Wellington), Liam Coltman (Highlanders/Otago), Codie Taylor (Crusaders/Canterbury), Owen Franks (Crusaders/Canterbury), Nepo Laulala (Chiefs/Counties Manukau), Joe Moody (Crusaders/Canterbury), Atu Moli (Chiefs/Tasman), Angus Ta’avao (Chiefs/Taranaki), Karl Tu’inukuafe (Blues/North Harbour), Ofa Tuungafasi (Blues/Auckland), Brodie Retallick (Chiefs Hawke’s Bay), Patrick Tuipulotu (Blues/Auckland), Samuel Whitelock (Crusaders/Canterbury), Jackson Hemopo (Highlanders/Manawatu), Sam Cane (Chiefs/Bay of Plenty), Vaea Fifita (Hurricanes/Wellington), Shannon Frizell (Highlanders/Tasman), Luke Jacobson (Chiefs/Waikato), Dalton Papalii (Blues/Auckland), Kieran Read (Crusaders/Counties Manukau), Ardie Savea (Hurricanes/Wellington), Matt Todd (Crusaders/Canterbury)

Backs: TJ Perenara (Hurricanes/Wellington), Aaron Smith (Highlanders/Manawatu), Brad Weber (Chiefs/Hawke’s Bay), Beauden Barrett (Hurricanes/Taranaki), Josh Ioane (Highlanders/Otago), Richie Mo’unga (Crusaders/Canterbury), Jack Goodhue (Crusaders/Northland), Ngani Laumape (Hurricanes/Manawatu), Anton Lienert-Brown (Chiefs/Waikato), Sonny Bill Williams (Blues/Counties Manukau), Braydon Ennor (Crusaders/Canterbury), Jordie Barrett (Hurricanes/Taranaki), George Bridge (Crusaders/Canterbury), Rieko Ioane (Blues/Auckland), Sevu Reece (Crusaders/Waikato), Ben Smith (Highlanders/Otago)

%d bloggers like this: