Home > Rugby News > REVEALED | The 11 players Warren Gatland believes will be in his squad in 2021

REVEALED | The 11 players Warren Gatland believes will be in his squad in 2021

Warren Gatland has reeled off the names of 11 players who are in pole position to start for his Lions against new world champions South Africa in 2021.

The Kiwi will coach the Lions for a third time when they tour South Africa and face the 2019 Rugby World Cup winning Springboks.

He led Wales to the World Cup semi-finals in Japan where they were beaten by South Africa, who defeated England in the final.

Gatland was asked by former Lions and England wing Ugo Monye, during an appearance on the BBC’s Rugby Union Weekly podcast , what the composition of his Test team to face South Africa would be if he was picking it in the wake of the World Cup.

Here are the 11 players mentioned:

  1. Josh Adams (Wales)
  2. Aaron Wainwright (Wales)
  3. Alun Wyn Jones (Wales)
  4. Anthony Watson (England)
  5. Jamie George (England)
  6. Tom Curry (England)
  7. Manu Tuilagi (England)
  8. Owen Farrell (England)
  9. Maro Itoje (England)
  10. Tadhg Furlong (Ireland)
  11. Stuart Hogg (Scotland)


Will Greenwood names his Lions XV for 2021

Will Greenwood has picked his current Lions XV for Sky Sports, based on Six Nations form and which is sure to change before the first Test in Johannesburg on July 24 2021…

15. Stuart Hogg (76 Scotland caps, British & Irish Lions 2013, 2017)

“He’s gone from strength-to-strength in terms of his performances, and continues to be one of the most dangerous attacking full-backs around.”

14. Jonny May (56 England caps)

“May has been one of the most consistent players in world rugby for some time, and has stood out again in 2020.”

13. Manu Tuilagi (43 England caps, British & Irish Lions 2013)

“2019 saw Tuilagi return to the England fold and produce a considerable impact.”

Manu Tuilagi of England surges forward.

12. Hadleigh Parkes (29 Wales caps)

“Parkes has been a mainstay in the national side – one which landed a Six Nations Grand Slam in 2018.”

11. Elliot Daly (43 England caps, British & Irish Lions 2017)

“Possesses a wonderful kicking game, elusive running and key playmaking ability.”

Elliot Daly of England breaks.


Leave a Reply