'Top of the Table Finish' - Munster Head Coach Graham Rowntree Named URC Coach of the Season - Ruck

‘Top of the Table Finish’ – Munster Head Coach Graham Rowntree Named URC Coach of the Season

Munster head coach Graham Rowntree has been awarded BKT Coach of the Season, for the 2023/24 United Rugby Championship campaign. Rowntree took the Irish province to the top of the URC table, with Munster reaching the semi-finals of this year’s competition. Rowntree led Munster to the URC title last season, yet his side felled by Glasgow Warriors for a place in this year’s final.

Rowntree followed up the 2022/23 URC title triumph with another excellent run of form, with Munster’s post-Christmas dominance seeing his side accrue a run of 11 wins in a row. The former Leicester Tigers prop was voted as the Coach of the Season by his URC peers, with the league’s head coaches and back-room staff involved in the decision process.

Lucia Salmaso, CEO of BKT Europe said: “Graham has done an excellent job this season with Munster, guiding them to the top of the table in the regular season. He has demonstrated excellent leadership with Munster’s stunning unbeaten run, and at BKT we know that a positive leadership is a key to teamwork success.

“In creating a custom ring for the BKT Coach of the Season, our company wants this achievement to live long in the memory. Congratulations to Graham on his fantastic work this season and we wish him all the best in the future.”


Tackle Machine: Alessandro Izekor (Benetton Rugby)

Turnover King: Jamie Ritchie (Edinburgh Rugby)

Gilbert Golden Boot: Chris Smith (Vodacom Bulls)

OFX Top Try Scorer: Johnny Matthews (Glasgow Warriors)

Ironman Award: Shane Daly (Munster Rugby)

Next-Gen Player of the Season: Jack Crowley (Munster Rugby)

Try of the Season Powered by URC.tv: Aphelele Fassi (Hollywoodbets Sharks)

Elixirr Innovation Award: Benetton

Elite XV: Warrick Gelant (DHL Stormers),Jordan Larmour (Leinster Rugby),Sione Tuipulotu (Glasgow Warriors), Alex Nankivell (Munster Rugby), Kurt-Lee Arendse (Vodacom Bulls), Jack Crowley (Munster Rugby), John Cooney (Ulster Rugby), Ox Nche (Hollywoodbets Sharks), Akker van der Merwe (Vodacom Bulls), Wilco Louw (Vodacom Bulls), Tadhg Beirne (Munster Rugby), Ruan Nortjé (Vodacom Bulls), Jamie Ritchie (Edinburgh Rugby), Elrigh Louw (Vodacom Bulls), Cameron Hanekom (Vodacom Bulls)

Vodacom URC Player of the Season: Sanele Nohamba (Emirates Lions)