TRANSFER | Juan Pablo Socino makes return to English rugby - Ruck

TRANSFER | Juan Pablo Socino makes return to English rugby

Juan Pablo Socino has made his return to English rugby following a stint in Spain.

The four-time capped Argentina international has penned a one-year contract with the Men in Black and brings with him a bagful of experience.

He has played over a century of games in the Championship, as well as just under 100 in all competitions for Newcastle Falcons, and is looking to bring that knowledge to the table in north London.

“It will be a huge challenge, something different and something a lot of the boys will never have done before,” Socino said of the Championship.

“Saracens turning up in the Championship… everyone is going to be up for it and have that extra motivation. We can’t take things for granted; we need to go into every game like it’s a final.

“The group, from what I’ve seen, is more than ready and looking forward for the challenge.”

The 32-year-old added: “The club wants to rebuild and bounce back straight to the Premiership and I was delighted they thought about me to be part of that process.

“I’m dying to get in and get involved and achieve that for the club and get back to where they belong.”


LIST | Rugby Legends Select Their British & Irish Lions XV’s for 2021

Will Greenwood

The England legend picked his current Lions XV for Sky Sports, based on form during the 2020 Six Nations,

15. Stuart Hogg (Sco), 14. Jonny May (Eng), 13. Manu Tuilagi (Eng), 12. Hadleigh Parkes (Wal), 11. Elliot Daly (Eng), 10. Owen Farrell (Eng), 9. Ali Price (Sco); 1. Rory Sutherland (Sco), 2.Jamie George (Eng), 3. Kyle Sinckler (Eng), 4. Maro Itoje (Eng), 5. James Ryan (Ire), 6. Tom Curry (Eng), 7. Justin Tipuric (Wal), 8. CJ Stander (Ire)

Lawrence Dallaglio

Speaking on The Ruck Podcast on The Times website, Dallaglio revealed his Lions XV…

15. Liam Williams (Wal), 14. Josh Adams (Wal), 13. Jonathan Davies (Wal), 12. Robbie Henshaw (Ire), 11. Anthony Watson (Eng), 10. Owen Farrell (Eng), 9. Tomos Williams (Wal); 1. Joe Marler (Eng), 2.Jamie George (Eng), 3. Tadhg Furlong (Ire), 4. Maro Itoje (Eng), 5. James Ryan (Ire), 6. Courtney Lawes (Eng), 7. Tom Curry (Eng), 8. Taulupe Faletau (Wal)