Wales Captain Alun Wyn Jones Crowned 2019 GUINNESS SIX NATIONS Player of the Championship

Welsh second-row, Alun Wyn Jones, has been unveiled as the 2019 GUINNESS SIX NATIONS Player of the Championship. Jones captained his side to victory, beating out all opposition in this year’s Championship and securing Wales’s first Grand Slam since 2012. 

Wales’s 2019 GUINNESS SIX NATIONS commenced with a resolute comeback win versus France in the Championship opener in Paris. The side continued with a series of dominant performances throughout the Championship, winning against Italy, England and Scotland, and finally against the title holders Ireland at Principality Stadium to cap off an impressive Grand Slam Championship. 

Ahead of going to a public vote, a shortlist of six potential players of the Championship, four Welsh and two English, were chosen by an expert panel of distinguished rugby writers and broadcasters from across the six participating countries:

·       Alun Wyn Jones (Wales)
·       Hadleigh Parkes (Wales)
·       Josh Adams (Wales)
·       Liam Williams (Wales)
·       Jonny May (England)
·       Tom Curry (England)

To celebrate GUINNESS’s first year as Title Sponsor of the GUINNESS SIX NATIONS, in a six-year deal, they have created a brand new bespoke GUINNESS SIX NATIONS Player of the Championship Trophy with one of Ireland’s leading bronze sculptors, Jarlath Daly. 

Jarlath Daly, Irish Bronze Sculptor, said “This is a hugely proud moment for me. The GUINNESS brand evokes heritage, and it was an absolute honour to create this trophy that will be handed to the top performing rugby player in this year’s GUINNESS SIX NATIONS tournament.”


%d bloggers like this: