Wales receive formal admission from World Rugby after ‘mistake’
Wales have been told by World Rugby’s referees’ chief that the television match official made a mistake with the controversial no-try incident against England at Twickenham.
Warren Gatland subsequently described TMO Glenn Newman’s call as a “terrible mistake” and he has now spoken with Alain Rolland, World Rugby’s high performance 15s match officials’ manager.
Time to take another good long look at that milk on the floor and shed a tear.
World Rugby have confirmed that Gareth Anscombe’s try decision was incorrect.
— Paul Williams (@thepaulwilliams) February 13, 2018
Wales assistant Rob Howley says World Rugby have admitted television match official (TMO) was wrong to rule out Gareth Anscombe ‘try’ against England.
TMO Glenn Newman ruled Anthony Watson beat Anscombe to the ball.
But World Rugby’s Alain Rolland confirmed an error was made. pic.twitter.com/gvciyes4hk
— BBC Sport Wales (@BBCSportWales) February 13, 2018
Speaking to reporters on Tuesday, Wales assistant coach Rob Howley said: “I know Warren Gatland spoke to Alain Rolland, and they confirmed that the TMO made a mistake.”
Wales lost the NatWest 6 Nations clash 12-6, with England failing to score a point after the 20th minute.
Howley added: “It was good to have dialogue with World Rugby. That phone call took place – I think it was yesterday – and Alain Rolland confirmed on behalf of World Rugby that the TMO made a mistake.
“It’s happened. It is disappointing that happens in professional sport, but we focus on the next two weeks and getting ourselves ready for Ireland.
“There was plenty of time after that decision. We had a couple of opportunities which we should have taken.”