Wasps name squad for 2017 Premiership Rugby Singha 7s

Wasps name squad for 2017 Premiership Rugby Singha 7s

Wasps have today named their squad for the 2017 Premiership Rugby Singha 7s, which will be hosted at Franklin’s Gardens this Friday and Saturday. 

Sevens Coach Lee Blackett has announced a strong 12-man squad, made up of 10 members of Wasps Senior Squad and two members of Wasps’ Senior Academy.

Wasps will utilise some of the sevens experience at the club with new signing Marcus Watson, who won a silver medal in the sevens at the 2016 Rio Olympics with Team GB, set to make his first appearance in black and gold.

Christian Wade will again add his substantial sevens experience to the squad, having previously played for England Sevens and been a vital member of Wasps’ sevens squad for the last couple of years.


Dan Robson captains a squad including Josh Bassett, Brendan Macken, Guy Thompson, Alex Rieder and Craig Hampson, who were all involved in winning the tournament last year.

The team announced today boasts the likes of Guy Armitage and Gaby Lovobalavu, also set to make his first appearance for the club.

There are also opportunities for new senior academy signing Gabriel Oghre and Owain James.

Wasps’ 12 man squad for Singha 7s
1. Marcus Watson
2. Brendan Macken
3. Christian Wade
4. Gabiriele Lovobalavu
5. Gabriel Oghre
6. Alex Rieder
7. Guy Thompson
8. Owain James
9. Dan Robson (c)
10. Craig Hampson
11. Josh Bassett
12. Guy Armitage
%d bloggers like this: