Women's Six Nations: Scotland 15-22 Ireland

Women’s Six Nations: Scotland 15-22 Ireland – Jenny Murphy scores the winning try on her first game back in over a year

  • Jenny Murphy snatched Ireland a bonus-point win away against Scotland
  • A brace from Jade Konkel gave the Scots an unexpected 15-10 lead at the break 
  • Lindsay Peat and Murphy’s second-half tries secured the win
Jenny Murphy scored a last-gasp try to secure Ireland Women a bonus-point victory against Scotland women in their Six Nations opener at Broadwood Stadium.

The hosts took an early lead through powerhouse No.8 Jade Konkel with scrum-half Sarah Law adding the extras

Unconverted tries from centre Sene Naoupu and winger Alison Miller saw the Irish, who host the Women’s World Cup later this year, come from behind to lead 10-7.


Nevertheless, Konkel muscled over for her second soon after before, despite missing the conversion, Law slotted a penalty to give Scotland, who haven’t won a test match in six years, an unexpected 15-10 lead at the break.

Lindsay Peat scored Ireland’s third try after the restart to level the scores before Murphy touched down in the last play of the match to steal the win and secure the try-scoring bonus-point, 15-22.

SCOTLAND WOMEN: Chloe Rollie (Murrayfield Wanderers); Megan Gaffney (Edinburgh University), Lisa Thomson (Edinburgh University), Lisa Martin (Murrayfield Wanderers) (capt), Rhona Lloyd (Edinburgh University); Helen Nelson (Murrayfield Wanderers), Sarah Law (Murrayfield Wanderers/Edinburgh University); Tracy Balmer (Worcester), Rachel Malcolm (Lichfield), Lindsey Smith (Hillhead Jordanhill), Emma Wassell (Murrayfield Wanderers), Deborah McCormack (Aylesford Bulls), Karen Dunbar (RHC Cougars), Louise McMillan (Hillhead Jordanhill), Jade Konkel (Hillhead Jordanhill).
Replacements: Lucy Park (Murrayfield Wanderers), Heather Lockhart (Hillhead Jordanhill), Katie Dougan (Edinburgh University), Sarah Bonar (Lichfield), Jemma Forsyth (Hillhead Jordanhill), Jenny Maxwell (Lichfield), Lauren Harris (Melrose), Eilidh Sinclair (Murrayfield Wanderers).
IRELAND WOMEN: Mairead Coyne (Galwegians/Connacht); Niamh Kavanagh (UL Bohemians/Munster), Jenny Murphy (Old Belvedere/Leinster), Sene Naoupu (Aylesford Bulls), Alison Miller (Old Belvedere/Connacht); Nora Stapleton (Old Belvedere/Leinster), Ailsa Hughes (Railway Union/Leinster); Lindsay Peat (Railway Union/Leinster), Leah Lyons (Highfield/Munster), Ailis Egan (Old Belvedere/Leinster), Orla Fitzsimons (St. Mary’s/Leinster), Marie Louise Reilly (Old Belvedere/Leinster), Ciara Griffin (UL Bohemians/Munster), Claire Molloy (Bristol/Connacht), Paula Fitzpatrick (St. Mary’s/Leinster) (capt).
Replacements: Jennie Finlay (Old Belvedere/Leinster), Ilse van Staden (Cooke/Ulster), Ciara O’Connor (Galwegians/Connacht), Elaine Anthony (Highfield/Munster), Nichola Fryday (Tullamore/Connacht), Mary Healy (Galwegians/Connacht), Claire McLaughlin (Cooke/Ulster), Eimear Considine (UL Bohemians/Munster).


%d bloggers like this: