England recall Northampton's Tom Wood for autumn Tests

England recall Northampton’s Tom Wood for autumn Tests

  • Tom Wood has been recalled to the England squad for the autumn internationals
  • Eddie Jones had left out Wood since taking charge after the 2015 World Cup
  • The uncapped trio of Mike Haley, Alex Lozowski and Charlie Ewels are also included
Eddie Jones has announced his 33-man squad for their upcoming November Test Series against South Africa, Fiji, Argentina and Australia.

The 33 players will fly to Portugal on Sunday, October 30 for a week of specific training before returning to England’s base at Pennyhill Park to prepare for the opening game against South Africa at Twickenham Stadium on Saturday, November 12.

With 10 players unavailable through injury, Jones has named six uncapped players in the squad. Tighthead prop Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins) joins back-row forward Nathan Hughes (Wasps) and second-row Charlie Ewels (Bath) in the forwards. Fullback Mike Haley (Sale Sharks), fly-half Alex Lozowski (Saracens) and centre Ben Te’o (Worcester Warriors) are included in the backs.

After recovering from a lengthy injury, wing Jonny May (Gloucester) returns to the England set-up, as do back-row forwards Ben Morgan (Gloucester), Tom Wood (Northampton Saints) and second-row Dave Attwood (Bath).

“With a number of influential players missing through injury we have two weeks to prepare a robust and resilient team to meet the challenges set for us in the Old Mutual Wealth Series.” said England head coach Jones.

“Our training camp in Portugal is a great opportunity to spend a week together, focus on putting our game plans in place and for new players to understand the England way.

“We’re looking forward to being back in front of a passionate Twickenham crowd and I’m confident we can prepare well and put together a matchday 23 which is full of pride, energy and commitment to give South Africa the game of their lives.”

33-man squad for November Tests
Forwards: Dave Attwood, Dan Cole, Charlie Ewels, Ellis Genge, Jamie George, Teimana Harrison, Dylan Hartley, Nathan Hughes, Joe Launchbury, Courtney Lawes, Joe Marler, Ben Morgan, Chris Robshaw, Kyle Sinckler, Tommy Taylor, Billy Vunipola, Mako Vunipola, Tom Wood
Backs: Mike Brown, Danny Care, Elliot Daly, Owen Farrell, George Ford, Alex Goode, Mike Haley, Jonathan Joseph, Alex Lozowski, Jonny May, Semesa Rokoduguni, Henry Slade, Ben Te’o, Marland Yarde, Ben Youngs
Injured players not considered for selection: Jack Clifford, Luke Cowan-Dickie, James Haskell, Maro Itoje, Sam Jones, George Kruis, Jack Nowell, Manu Tuilagi, Anthony Watson, Mike Williams


Download IOS   Download Android

%d bloggers like this: