GB Sevens confirm Olympic squads

GB Sevens confirm Olympic squads

  • Team GB Sevens confirm Olympic squads
  • Britain’s men will face New Zealand, Kenya and Japan at Rio, while the women play Brazil, Canada and Japan
  • The confirmation of Team GB’s rugby sevens players brings to an end all squad announcements
The British Olympic Association has announced the names of the 24 men and women who will compete in Sevens at the Rio 2016 Olympic Games. 

It will be the first time in 108 years that Team GB has had representation in rugby at Olympic level.

The competition takes place over six days with the women competing first from August 6-8 at the Deodoro Stadium in a pool which includes hosts Brazil, Japan and Canada.

The men’s competition follows from August 9-11 with Kenya, Japan and New Zealand waiting in the pool stages for Team GB.

Great Britain Mens Squad: Mark Bennett, Dan Bibby, Phil Burgess, Sam Cross, Alex Davis, James Davies, Ollie Lindsay Hague, Tom Mitchell (c), Dan Norton, James Rodwell, Mark Robertson, Marcus Watson
Reserves: Luke Treharne, Ruaridh McConnochie
Great Britain Womens Squad: Claire Allan, Abbie Brown, Heather Fisher, Natasha Hunt, Jasmine Joyce, Katy McLean, Alice Richardson, Emily Scarratt, Emily Scott, Danielle Waterman, Joanne Watmore, Amy Wilson-Hardy
Reserves: Megan Jones, Kay Wilson