Bristol Rugby 17-41 Exeter Chiefs

Bristol Rugby 17-41 Exeter Chiefs: Baxter’s men make it successive victories

  • Exeter defeated a Bristol side who remain without a victory since their Premiership return
  • The Chiefs went into half-time with a 24-5 lead at Ashton Gate
  • Ross McMillan and Max Crumpton gave Bristol hope but Sam Hill secured the win for Exeter
Exeter continued their early-season revival as they claimed a 41-17 bonus-point win against Bristol in their Premiership clash on Friday.

Two tries each from Olly Woodburn and Thomas Waldrom ensured the bonus point after just 42 minutes, before Sam Hill scored their fifth of the night with just two minutes remaining.

Bristol were able to score three tries of their own however, with Jordan Williams, Ross McMillan and Max Crumpton all carrying over, but their scoring was tarnished by poor kicking from Tusi Pisi.

The result in the first match between the two West Country sides since the 2010 Championship play-off final leaves newly promoted Bristol at the bottom of the table with only one point from their opening four games.


Bristol: 15 Jordan Williams, 14 Ryan Edwards, 13 Will Hurrell, 12 Thretton Palamo, 11 Tom Varndell, 10 Tusi Pisi, 9 Will Cliff, 8 Jordan Crane, 7 Jack Lam (c), 6 Jon Fisher, 5 Mark Sorenson, 4 James Phillips, 3 Gaston Cortes, 2 Ross McMillan, 1 Kyle Traynor
Replacements: 16 Max Crumpton, 17 Soane Tonga’uiha, 18 Jamal Ford-Robinson, 19 Joe Joyce, 20 Mitch Eadie, 21 Martin Roberts, 22 Adrian Jarvis, 23 Charlie Amesbury

Exeter: 15 Lachie Turner, 14 Olly Woodburn, 13 Henry Slade, 12 Sam Hill, 11 Ian Whitten, 10 Gareth Steenson (c), 9 Will Chudley, 8 Thomas Waldrom, 7 Julian Salvi, 6 Dave Dennis, 5 Damian Welch, 4 Mitch Lees, 3 Greg Holmes, 2 Luke Cowan-Dickie, 1 Alec Hepburn
Replacements: 16 Jack Yeandle, 17 Ben Moon, 18 Harry Williams, 19 Geoff Parling, 20 Kai Horstmann, 21 Dave Lewis, 22 Ollie Devoto, 23 James Short

Date: Friday, September 23
Venue: Ashton Gate
Kick-off: 19:45 BST (18:45 GMT)
Referee: Tom Foley
Assistant Referees: Greg Macdonald, Paul Dix
TMO: Sean Davey


Download IOS   Download Android