The stunning XV of players unavailable to Eddie Jones for South Africa tour

When announcing his squad for the forthcoming tour of South Africa, Eddie Jones also attached a list of players who were unavailable for selection due to injury or being given a break.

The Aussie released his squad last Thursday that featured eight uncapped players, which includes Super Rugby star Brad Shields after he was released by the New Zealand rugby union overnight.

Ben Earl (Saracens), Nathan Earle (Saracens), Jonny Hill (Exeter Chiefs), Dan Robson (Wasps), Ben Spencer (Saracens), 18-year-old Cameron Redpath (Sale Sharks) and Jack Willis (Wasps) were all given their chance in the face of a series of absentees.

The XV you can put together of those absentees is arguably stronger than any you could put together with Jones’ current crop.

Fullback: Anthony Watson
Winger: Jack Nowell
Centre: Jonathan Joseph
Centre: Manu Tuilagi
Winger: Semesa Rokoduguni 
Fly-half: Harry Mallinder
Scrum-half: Danny Care