European Champions Cup: Clermont Auvergne 17-28 Saracens

European Champions Cup: Clermont 17-28 Saracens

Saracens made it back-to-back Champions Cup triumphs as they deservedly defeated Clermont 28-17 at Murrayfield on Saturday.

Early tries from England internationals Chris Ashton and George Kruis helped Sarries into a 12-0 lead, but Clermont hit back through powerhouse centre Remi Lamerat’s converted try.

After Owen Farrell edged Sarries eight points clear a dazzling Nick Abendanon try saw Clermont move back within a point.

But a combination of fullback Alex Goode’s try and Farrell’s boot ensured Saracens retained their crown in style.

Full report to follow.

Clermont: 15 Scott Spedding, 14 David Strettle, 13 Aurélien Rougerie, 12 Rémi Lamerat, 11 Nick Abendanon, 10 Camille Lopez, 9 Morgan Parra, 8 Fritz Lee, 7 Peceli Yato, 6 Damien Chouly (c), 5 Sébastien Vahaamahina, 4 Arthur Iturria, 3 Davit Zirakashvili, 2 Benjamin Kayser, 1 Raphael Chaume
Replacements: 16 John Ulugia, 17 Etienne Falgoux, 18 Aaron Jarvis, 19 Paul Jedrasiak, 20 Alexandre Lapandry, 21 Ludovic Radosavljevic, 22 Pato Fernandez, 23 Damien Penaud 
Saracens: 15 Alex Goode, 14 Chris Ashton, 13 Marcelo Bosch, 12 Brad Barritt (c), 11 Chris Wyles, 10 Owen Farrell, 9 Richard Wigglesworth, 8 Billy Vunipola, 7 Jackson Wray, 6 Michael Rhodes, 5 George Kruis, 4 Maro Itoje, 3 Vincent Koch, 2 Jamie George, 1 Mako Vunipola
Replacements: 16 Schalk Brits, 17 Titi Lamositele, 18 Petrus du Plessis, 19 Jim Hamilton, 20 Schalk Burger, 21 Ben Spencer, 22 Alex Lozowski, 23 Duncan Taylor
Date: Saturday, May 13
Venue: Murrayfield, Edinburgh
Kick-off: 17:00 local (16:00 GMT)
Referee: Nigel Owens (Wales)
Assistant Referees: George Clancy (Ireland), Ian Davies (Wales)
TMO: Jon Mason (Wales)
%d bloggers like this: