Lions 2017: Provincial Barbarians 7-13 British & Irish Lions

Lions 2017: Provincial Barbarians 7-13 British & Irish Lions

Owen Farrell answered the misfiring British and Irish Lions’ distress call to sink the New Zealand Provincial Barbarians 13-7, as Johnny Sexton endured a wretched night in Whangarei.

Ireland fly-half Sexton trudged off after just 48 minutes of the Lions’ opening tour clash in New Zealand, removed in part due to a potential leg injury – but also after a miserable performance.

Self-employed maintenance engineer Sam Anderson-Heather’s try put the Barbarians 7-3 ahead at the break, with Farrell forced to rescue the tourists in a wholly unconvincing victory.

Tweet of the match

Moment of the match

Owen Farrell sent Ross Moriarty through the line, then got onto the ball again to set up the Lions’ winning score, which was well finished by Anthony Watson.

Star man – Taulupe Faletau

The Wales flanker produced a masterful try-saving tackle in the first half. One of few to impress on a below-par night.

Part-timers reign supreme

The Lions’ lacklustre showing allowed a scratch team of promising youngsters and part-time journeymen to push Warren Gatland’s men to the brink. And captain Sam Anderson-Heather claimed a try to remember – a far cry from his day job as a maintenance engineer.

Player ratings

British and Irish Lions: Joe Marler 6, Rory Best 5, Kyle Sinckler 7, Alun Wyn Jones 5, Iain Henderson 4, Ross Moriarty 5, Sam Warburton 5, Taulupe Faletau 8, Greig Laidlaw 5, Johnny Sexton 4, Tommy Seymour 5, Ben Te’o 6, Jonathan Joseph 5, Anthony Watson 7, Stuart Hogg 5. Replacements: Jamie George (for Best, 49) 6, Mako Vunipola (for Marler, 49) 6, Tadhg Furlong (for Sinckler, 49) 6, George Kruis (for Henderson, 49) 6, Justin Tipuric (for Warburton, 66) 5, Rhys Webb (for Laidlaw, 57) 6, Owen Farrell (for Sexton, 48) 8.

Who’s up next?

Auckland Blues v British and Irish Lions, Eden Park, Wednesday, June 7

Provincial Barbarians: 15 Luteru Laulala (Counties Manukau), 14 Sam Vaka (Counties Manukau), 13 Inga Finau (Canterbury), 12 Dwayne Sweeney (Waikato), 11 Sevu Reece (Waikato), 10 Bryn Gatland (North Harbour), 9 Jack Stratton (Canterbury), 8 Mitchell Dunshea (Canterbury), 7 Lachlan Boshier (Taranaki), 6 James Tucker (Waikato), 5 Keepa Mewett (Bay of Plenty), 4 Josh Goodhue (Northland), 3 Oliver Jager (Canterbury), 2 Sam Anderson-Heather (c) (Otago), 1 Aidan Ross (Bay of Plenty)
Replacements: 16 Andrew Makalio (Tasman), 17 Tolu Fahamokioa (Wellington), 18 Marcel Renata (Auckland), 19 Matt Matich (Northland), 20 Peter Rowe (Wanganui), 21 Richard Judd (Bay of Plenty), 22 Jonah Lowe (Hawke’s Bay), 23 Junior Ngaluafe (Southland)
British and Irish Lions: 15 Stuart Hogg, 14 Anthony Watson, 13 Jonathan Joseph, 12 Ben Te’o, 11 Tommy Seymour, 10 Johnny Sexton, 9 Greig Laidlaw, 8 Taulupe Faletau, 7 Sam Warburton (c), 6 Ross Moriarty, 5 Iain Henderson, 4 Alun Wyn Jones, 3 Kyle Sinckler, 2 Rory Best, 1 Joe Marler
Replacements: 16 Jamie George, 17 Mako Vunipola, 18 Tadgh Furlong, 19 George Kruis, 20 Justin Tipuric, 21 Rhys Webb, 22 Owen Farrell, 23 Elliot Daly
Date: Saturday, June 3
Venue: Toll Stadium, Whangarei
Kick-off: 19:35 local (07:35 GMT)
Referee: Angus Gardner (Australia)
Assistant Referees: Mike Fraser (New