Lions set to call up six Scotland and Wales reinforcements

British & Irish Lions head coach Warren Gatland is reportedly set to call upon up to six players from Scotland and Wales in the coming days to bolster his squad. 

No English or Irish players will be flown in, with Scotland and Wales both within short-haul flight range after their respective weekend Tests against Australia in Sydney and Tonga in Auckland.



The Lions have already lost Stuart Hogg to injury and Owen Farrell has joined the casualty list with a thigh strain – leaving Gatland short on manpower ahead of their penultimate midweek fixture.

Finn Russell is thought to be one of the six with the other five still relatively unknown.

BRITISH AND IRISH LIONS’ TOUR SCHEDULE
Saturday 3rd June
Provincial Barbarians, Toll Stadium, Whangarei (WON 13-7)
Wednesday 7th June
Blues, Eden Park (LOST 16-22)
Saturday 10th June
Crusaders, AMI Stadium, Christchurch, (WON 12-3)
Tuesday 13th June
Highlanders, Forsyth Barr Stadium, Dunedin, (LOST 23-22)
Saturday 17th June
Maori All Blacks, Rotorua International Stadium, 8.35am
Tuesday 20th June
Chiefs, FMG Stadium Waikato, Hamilton, 8.35am
Saturday 24th June
New Zealand, Eden Park, Auckland, 8.35am (First Test)
Tuesday 27th June
Hurricanes, Westpac Stadium. Wellington, 8.35am
Saturday 1st July
New Zealand, Westpac Stadium, Wellington, 8.35am (Second Test)
Saturday 8th July
New Zealand, Eden Park, Auckland, 8.35am (Third Test) 
All times are BST
%d bloggers like this: