New bonus point system for Rugby Championship

New bonus point system for Rugby Championship

SANZAAR confirmed that the modified bonus point system that was introduced into Super Rugby this season, will be adopted for The Rugby Championship. 

The match schedule for the tournament was also announced that will include, for the first time, a match played at Twickenham Stadium on October 8 between Argentina and the defending champions, Australia.

This is a nominated home match for Argentina while Los Pumas’ other home matches will be played in Salta and Buenos Aires.

The Rugby Championship tournament in 2016 will therefore see the four-try bonus point replaced by a bonus point awarded to a team finishing three or more tries ahead of its opponent. The bonus point for losing by seven or fewer points remains unchanged.

The Twickenham match will be the final game of the Championship and could have a huge bearing on the outcome of the tournament.