"Class of 2023" Premiership Rugby Confirm Trio of Hall of Fame Inductees - Page 3 of 3 - Ruck

“Class of 2023” Premiership Rugby Confirm Trio of Hall of Fame Inductees

Tom Youngs

LEICESTER, ENGLAND – MAY 11: Tom Youngs of Leicester lines up a throw during the Aviva Premiership semi final match between Leicester Tigers and Harlequins at Welford Road on May 11, 2013 in Leicester, England. (Photo by David Rogers/Getty Images)

The final player to be named in the 2023 Hall of Fame is Leicester Tigers legend Tom Youngs. The hooker made 215 appearances for Leicester Tigers, with over 150 of them being in the Premiership. Youngs embodied what it meant to be a true ‘one-club man’, remaining under contract with Leicester Tigers for his entire playing career.

Youngs spent his playing career alongside his brother Ben, with the siblings sharing the pitch at Welford Road for 15 years. Tom Youngs won his first Premiership title in 2013, in the iconic East Midlands Derby battle with Northampton Saints. Just weeks later, Youngs was called up into the British and Irish Lions squad for the tour of Australia, and joined his fellow 2023 Premiership Hall of Fame inductee Brad Barritt in the 2-1 test series victory.

Tom Youngs made 28 caps for England, and made his debut in the 2012 Summer Tour to South Africa. During the 2021/22 Premiership season , Youngs ended his on-field career to support his wife and family. However, Young’s contributions as long-serving Club Captain were recognised, when Leicester Tigers lifted the Premiership trophy in that year’s Twickenham final. Ellis Genge and Tom Youngs lifted the the trophy, after Freddie Burns’ drop goal heroics won the match against Saracens.

Phil Winstanley, Rugby Director at Premiership Rugby, said:

“The 2023 inductees to the Premiership Rugby Hall of Fame have been outstanding rugby players who made a monumental contribution to the success of their Clubs and England.

“Beyond their brilliance on the pitch, all three are also great people and have been terrific ambassadors for the Premiership and our sport over many years.

“We will be honoured to welcome Matt, Brad and Tom, and their families, to the Gallagher Premiership Final this Saturday, and we look forward to witnessing the Twickenham crowd show its appreciation for three of the league’s true greats at half-time.” 


The 2022 Inductees (above)

Will Greenwood, Trevor Woodman and Tom Varndell.

The 2021 Inductees

Steve Thompson, Christian Day, Paul Grayson and Andy Goode

The 2019 Inductees

Matt Dawson (Northampton Saints and Wasps), Nick Evans (Harlequins) and Jason Leonard (Harlequins and Saracens)

The 2017 Inductees

Nick Easter (Harlequins), Ben Kay (Leicester Tigers), Kyran Bracken (Bristol Rugby and Saracens), Steve Borthwick (Saracens) and Jason Robinson (Sale Sharks)

The 2016 Inductees

Mike Tindall (Bath Rugby and Gloucester Rugby), Neil Back (Leicester Tigers), Richard Hill (Saracens), Mark Cueto (Sale Sharks) and Hugh Vyvyan (Saracens)

The 2015 Inductees

Jonny Wilkinson (Newcastle Falcons, above), Lawrence Dallaglio (Wasps), Josh Lewsey (Bristol Rugby and Wasps), Phil Vickery (Gloucester Rugby and Wasps), James Simpson-Daniel (Gloucester Rugby),Peter Wheeler (Leicester Tigers) and Simon Shaw (Bristol Rugby and Wasps)

The 2014 Inductees

Lewis Moody (Leicester Tiger and Bath Rugby), Martin Johnson (Leicester Tigers), Ed  Morrison (Match Official) and the late Tom Walkinshaw (Gloucester Rugby).

The 2013 Inductees

Geordan Murphy (Leicester Tigers), George Chuter (Saracens and Leicester Tigers) and Charlie Hodgson (Sale Sharks and Saracens)

The 2007-2011 era:

Chris Robshaw (2008-09 and 2011-12), Chris Ashton (2009-10), Tom Wood (2010-11), Dean Ryan (2007-08), Richard Cockerill (2008-09), Andy Key (2009-10), Jim Mallinder (2010-11) and Rob Baxter (2011-12)

The 2003-2007 era:

Martin Corry (2004-05), Mike Catt (2005-06), Martin Castrogiovanni (2006-07), John Connolly (2003-04), John Wells (2004-05), Philippe Saint-Andre (2005-06), Pat Howard (2006-07)

The 1997-2003 era:

Andy Robinson (1999-2000), Dean Richards (2000-01), Conor O’Shea/Brendan Venter (2001-02), Warren Gatland (2002-03), Pat Lam (97-98), Austin Healey (1999-2000), Iain Balshaw (2000-01), Jake Boer (2002-03)