"Major blow" - Ireland coach Mike Catt could quit for new role - Ruck

“Major blow” – Ireland coach Mike Catt could quit for new role

Ireland coach Mike Catt could be offered the chance to return to Bath if the Springboks come calling for head coach Johann van Graan to join their coaching staff after the World Cup.

The current world champions need to replace Jacques Nienaber, who is taking over at Leinster after the tournament in France ends, and it is likely to lead to a revamp of the Boks staff.

According to The Rugby Paper, Deon Davids, who is a member of Nienaber’s coaching team, is likely to get promoted to the top job, and Van Graan could join his backroom team.

Catt, born on September 17, 1971, is a rugby legend renowned for his exceptional skills and strategic prowess.

Hailing from Port Elizabeth, South Africa, Catt represented both England and the British and Irish Lions during his illustrious rugby career.

His versatility allowed him to excel as a fly-half, center, or fullback. Catt played a pivotal role in England’s historic 2003 Rugby World Cup triumph, contributing as a player and later as a coach.

Beyond his playing days, he continued to make waves in coaching, sharing his vast knowledge with various teams.



Scotland (15)

WP Nel (South Africa), Pierre Schoeman (South Africa), Javan Sebastian (England), Ewan Ashman (Canada), Sam Skinner (England), Jack Dempsey (Australia), Hamish Watson (England), Ali Price (England), Ben White (England), Ben Healy (Ireland), Chris Harris (England), Cameron Redpath (France), Sione Tuipulotu (Australia), Kyle Steyn (South Africa), Duhan van der Merwe (South Africa).

Italy (11)

Ivan Nemer (Argentina), Hame Faiva (New Zealand), Dino Lamb (England), David Sisi (Germany), Toa Halafihi (New Zealand), Sebastian Negri (Zimbabwe), Martin Page-Relo (France), Juan Ignacio Brex (Argentina), Ange Capuozzo (France), Monty Ioane (Australia), Paolo Odogwu (England),

Wales (10)

Taulupe Faletau (Tonga), Tomas Francis (England), Dan Lydiate (England), Will Rowlands (England), Henry Thomas (England), Christ Tshiunza (Democratic Republic of the Congo), Gareth Anscombe (New Zealand), George North (England), Nick Tompkins (England), Johnny Williams (England),


%d bloggers like this: