Michael Hooper wins John Eales Medal for 2016

Michael Hooper wins John Eales Medal for 2016

  • Michael Hooper has claimed a runaway John Eales Medal win
  • The flanker the fourth player to claim Australia’s highest rugby honour twice
  • Hooper beat second place David Pocock by 107 votes to win the award
Waratahs Captain and Wallabies vice-captain, Michael Hooper has won the 2016 John Eales Medal after first claiming the title back in 2013.

The number seven beat out David Pocock by 107 votes to win the award, with his back row partner finishing second despite missing five Tests in 2016, with his World Cup domination propelling him up the leaderboard.

“Over the past twelve months, Michael has been consistently one of the most impressive players in the world, and this was never more evident than during last year’s World Cup when he combined masterfully with David Pocock to steer Australia to the final,” said Australian Rugby Union CEO Bill Pulver.

“Michael is still 24 but has shown than age is no barrier after having been named Australia’s youngest Test captain in 2014.”

The 24-year-old was also voted the fan favourite for a remarkable fourth year in a row, with his award double answering some early season critics.

John Eales Medal Award winners:
John Eales Medal: Michael Hooper
Wallabies Rookie of the Year: Dane Haylett-Petty
Wallabies Try of the Year: Drew Mitchell (most responsible for Adam Ashley-Cooper’s try), Australia v Argentina, Twickenham Stadium, 2015 Rugby World Cup Semi Final
Australia’s Choice – Wallaby of the Year: Michael Hooper
Wallabies Hall of Fame: John ‘Jack’ Ford, John Solomon, Peter Johnson
Super Rugby Player of the Year: Sean McMahon, Melbourne Rebels
Super Rugby Team of the Year: Brumbies
Super Rugby Coach of the Year: Stephen Larkham, Brumbies
Super Rugby Rookie of the Year: Reece Hodge, Melbourne Rebels
Super Rugby Try of the Year: Nick Frisby (most responsible for Jake McIntyre’s try), Queensland Reds v Blues, Suncorp Stadium, Round 4
Super Rugby Referee of the Series: Angus Gardner
National Rugby Championship Player of the Year: Irae Simone, Sydney Rays
Australian U20 Player of the Year: Tyrell Lomax
Shawn Mackay Award Men’s Sevens Player of the Year: Ed Jenkins
Shawn Mackay Award Women’s Sevens Player of the Year: Charlotte Caslick
Women’s XVs Player of the Year: Ashleigh Hewson
Joe French Award: Alec Evans
Nick Farr-Jones Spirit of Rugby Award: Megan and Anthony Elliot
Roger Vanderfield Award – Referee of the Year: Angus Gardner
Volunteer of the Year: Deon Norval, Uni Norths Owls Rugby Club, ACT
Lifetime Volunteer of the Year: Dougal Whitton, Canberra Royals Rugby Club, ACT
Young Volunteer of the Year (U25): Hayden Croghan, Palmyra Rugby Club, WA
Geoff ‘Bunter’ Shaw Community Coach of the Year: Kylie Dawson, Farrer Memorial Agricultural High School Rugby, Tamworth, NSW and NSW Central Norths Rugby


Download IOS   Download Android

%d bloggers like this: